I actually did some spinning.

Are you shocked? I’ve been working on the same thing for a WHILE. I had reached the point of acceptance. Without a word of a lie, I thought I was going to be spinning this for the rest of my life. There was a small logical part of my brain that knew that wasn’t the case, but the rest of it was completely convinced. Part of the reason why it took so long is that the fiber is absolutely lovely. I didn’t want to mess it up. Then I messed around a lot with the colors so that I could get a near-perfect gradient. (I love being obsessively controlling about my spinning.) I knew I wanted to chain ply, and I wanted a very lightweight yarn, so that meant that I’d be spinning three times the final length of the yarn, with very skinny singles. And then when you’re chain plying, you have to pay particular attention to the evenness of your spinning so you don’t get those dreadful unsightly lumps.. All that goes to say that I’ve been spinning on this fiber for over 10 weeks (*sigh* I’m terrible.)

Here’s the gorgeous fiber:

5.10.15.8

It’s superfine merino from Melissa at Hey Lady Hey, in her Laguna colorway. It’s speckled, and there’s a ton of depth to all of the colors in the braid. There’s deep plummy purple and vibrant blood red, a pretty pale green, a grass green, and an aqua green color. It’s beautiful as it is, but me being me I decided that I needed to rip it up and organize the segments by color (which I did with actually pretty remarkable success.) What I ended up with is a gradient that starts in deep purple, progresses through blood red to pale green to grass green to aqua green at the end. To make it even more fun, all the green sections have at least a small amount of red speckling. I love it. 5.10.15.1 5.10.15.3

5.10.15.2

The superfine merino is perfect for spinning really thin. It’s CRAZY SOFT even with tons of twist in it. Don’t you love all the colors in the finished yarn? They blended and mixed in the coolest ways. I was originally thinking that I’d knit a Zuzu’s Petals with this, but I now think that the colors are too vibrant and would obscure the lacework. Plus I have way too much yardage and I want to use the whole gradient. I’ve got just over 400 yards, so I’m going to try to knit a Citron instead. So many people have knit one that I’m feeling left out 😛 I also think that the half-circle shape would perfectly highlight the shifting colors of the yarn, and the gradient will make it look like a really wild slice of citrus, something you might find in Willy Wonka’s factory. 5.10.15.5 5.10.15.6 5.10.15.4 5.10.15.7

I love this yarn. I think that it’s really one of the loveliest things I’ve ever spun, and it’s definitely my best effort so far as regards chain-plying. I still have to do that on my spindle in order to get it to work for me. I think that I could eventually teach myself to do it on my wheel, but I’d have to ruin a fair amount of fiber in order to figure it out. So the spindle works for now 🙂 I would also like to point out that this skein hasn’t been washed, so its imperfections are more obvious than they will be after a bath. (I have my pride, you know. Don’t want to seem like a worse spinner than I actually am :P) So I really have been working! I’ve just been overly meticulous and it took me a long time to finish this pretty. I want to cast it on soon, which is usually the opposite of what I do. I like my stash to hang around for a while as I figure out what it wants to be. This just wants to be wrapped around my neck right now!! It’s so soft and squishy and the colors are awesomely fun. Also, you should know that the prep was AMAZING. I could’ve spun it right out of the braid, and I’m terrible at that usually. So go forth and buy stuff! I might cast this on tonight and ditch all my other projects (and they are legion.)

7 Comments

  1. That is stunning!

  2. Beautiful! It’s well worth the wait!

  3. Just lovely :0) mari

  4. shellssells

    That’s so pretty! Congrats.
    If you have not yet seen it, I believe this to be the best video on chain plying on a wheel:

  5. The yarn came out GORGEOUS. So impressed.

  6. Scrumptious! I can’t wait to see the Citron you’ll knit with it 🙂

  7. Impressive and gorgeous! Can’t wait to view it’s magic in shawl form. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

