She Might Be Chilly.

Hello once again friends! It’s a lovely Easter Sunday, and it makes me think of buds and leaves and new life. This is especially apt, as my dear friend Katica was given a lovely surprise on April Fool’s day. She was expecting a baby in May, but little Ema decided to play a prank on us all. She’s certainly early, but doing well. She has to stay in the hospital until she gains some weight, which is probably for the best because she doesn’t have any clothes that fit! Katica and her husband were quite sensible, and decided to purchase mostly clothes that would fit her a little while after she was born, since a lot of people stock up on newborn clothes that barely get worn. But surprise! She’s only about five pounds, and newborn clothes are too big. I was lucky enough to visit her and her mum in the hospital, and when I saw her tiny perfect self all wrapped up in the bassinet, something inside me just totally snapped. I’m just going to put this right out there. I love babies. I have no interest in having any of my own right now, because for one thing I believe you should have a pretty good handle on caring for yourself before you try to take care of someone else. (I also know myself well enough to know that if I have kids before I reach a certain point in my career, there’s no way I’ll be able to balance the two.) However, that means that I’m extra excited whenever any of my friends gets pregnant. It’s just thrilling to me. I love knitting for babies, I love how quick it is, and I love how adorable babies look in handknits. I love doing it because it’s certainly become less common, and thus it’s more special to the parents. Handknits are heirlooms, and in this world where everything is mass-produced and fast and disposable, they make an especially perfect welcome gift for a baby. That’s a long way of saying that I knit Ema some tiny preemie clothes.

      

The yarn I used is not machine washable (I know, scandalous) but I don’t think that really matters because these things are going to fit her for all of five minutes. It’s Luna Grey Fiber Arts Terra yarn in the Moss colorway (I think, the ball band is MIA.) It’s a lovely variegated green, which I chose after Greg reminded me that green was the main color in her nursery. I was thinking about doing something purple, but he was totally right to pick green. (Don’t tell him though :P)

The bootees I’ve actually knit before, they are the lovely Chaussons Mignons, and they’re definitely going to be one of my go-to patterns for babies. You knit an odd T shape, and then fold them up, sew some seams, and Voila! Adorable bootees that look like fortune cookies. They knit up super fast, and they are very very cute. I sized them down just a smidge for teensy feet, so they just flew!

The hat is the Garter Ear Flap Hat from Purl Soho, and I can say with certainty that she looks like a tiny gnome wearing it. (In the cutest possible way.) They didn’t have a size small enough for her little head, so I had to improvise a bit. It worked out though! Her mom ditched the hospital hat immediately, and now she’s wearing mine! It was stunningly cute, and a guaranteed way to get an entire roomful of adults cooing and making fools of themselves. It was awesome.

The sweater is Olivia’s Wrap Cardigan, but I didn’t knit the sleeves and I cropped it quite a bit. I didn’t want a full-length cardigan, but a cute little bolero. I also sized down the body from the newborn size by using smaller needles. I love how it came out!

The crazy thing is, all of these things took less than one ball of yarn. Insanity! I had a fair bit left too, probably 15-20 grams? Knitting this stuff was crazy fun. I still plan to make a few other things for when she’s bigger, (because her knitting was started but not finished. I wasn’t ready for her to be born!) and after that I’ll try to practice some restraint. We’ll see how that goes. She was born during a very cold spring here in Mass, and I’m thinking that she’ll need some cozy knits to cope with the chill. I need to start thinking about stuff for the other babies on my list though! Hopefully they’ll be born after a full term, but that means that they’re knits won’t be as insanely fast. Until next time friends!

3 Comments

  1. Oh, squeeeeeee! So cute.
    I love babies, too. Don’t need any more until grandkids (and that, not for a while since my adult kids aren’t seriously dating), but I love holding babies and then GIVING THEM BACK. Yup. There was an 8 day old baby in church this morning, and I love how newborns are still all folded up, and you can see just how they fit inside mom before they’re hatched. My second was 3 weeks early, and I kept looking at him thinking, “You would still fit inside.” Happy baby knitting to you!

  2. So adorable. I love the springy color.

  3. shellssells

    I keep saying that I am WAY too young to be a grandparent, and too old (for me) to be a parent of a newborn. So thankfully all my friends have babies that I can cuddle and enjoy! Congrats on the new little one in your life, enjoy the snuggle time when you get it!

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

