It’s so FLUFFY!! 

So, I have to admit, I’m starting to get the appeal of hats as perfect quick projects. The instant gratification factor is astounding. I cast on a hat at 11 pm on Sunday, and by 9pm on Monday it was finished and drying after it’s bath. Tuesday I wore it!

So let’s back up. A few years ago I grabbed two skeins of 80% angora and 20% merino at the closing sale of A Good Yarn in Brookline *sniff* It was lovely yarn, but quite fuzzy, and I wasn’t sure what to do with about 200 yards of worsted weight angora. So it sat in my stash looking quite pretty.

I was reading through the archives of Ysolda Teague’s blog (what, you don’t do that with designers you like??) and I came across her Icing Swirl hat. I was smitten. It is just so terribly cute, slouchy and with swirling simple lace that has a lot of visual impact without being at all difficult to do. Now, the yarn weight was all wrong, but it needed a bulky weight and I had two strands of worsted weight.. I figured I could make it work. And I did!! I followed the pattern exactly as written for the larger size, but it was actually going to be too slouchy. So I did some extra decreases in the back (about six?) and slapped some ribbing on there so it would at least try to stay on my head. I did the SSK castoff and let me tell you guys, I LOVE IT. I sized up on needles to get a nice stretchy edge, and it worked a treat. It stays on my head, but slouches and looks super cute. It was fast and delightful and so fun. Also? I played some totally epic yarn chicken and won. This is how much was left when I was done.

No fooling. Maybe four inches left. Now I couldn’t find anyone to take pictures of me, so I took a bunch of selfies. I know that we hate selfies, and they’re silly, and all that jazz, but they’re a knitblogger’s best friend on occasion. So you’re just going to have to deal with it.

I think the hat goes very well with my turquoise skinny jeans and the dragonfly scarf from my mom 🙂  Also, since I didn’t have the presence of mind to snap a pic of the back while I was outside in good light, you get instead a photo from indoors. But it will at least give you the right idea.

Isn’t that little knot in the middle super cute?? I love that little detail.

So a few specs. I knit this with Takhi yarns Jolie, 80% angora/20% merino. This yarn sheds like CRAZY. I think that’s probably why they discontinued it. There’s a light halo of angora over my entire apartment now, alas. However, I thought I’d try to minimize the shedding in the finished project, so when I blocked it I gave it a bath in warm water and agitated it for a good five minutes (just swirling it around I. the water.) I know you’re not supposed to do either of those things, but I did and it totally worked. The finished hat doesn’t shed at all, and I wore it with a black sweater, so believe me, I’d know 😛 I didn’t want to shrink it, just full it slightly so that the fibers would stick together. I now have something I’m totally happy with, and the agitation brought up an absolutely gorgeous halo.

I needed a happy little palette cleanser after that monkey sweater, and this for the bill perfectly. I love it!! And of course, this is me now. 

8 Comments

  1. creative pixie

    The hat is beautiful. I love the how soft angora is but hate it against my skin, feels itchy.

  2. I looks great and I love the colors.

  3. Awesome color. Looks great on you.

  4. Oh, that’s so perfect! I love it when stash gets put to good use. Sometimes it takes yarn a while to tell you what it wants to be.

    You did a good job with the selfies. Sometimes it’s really hard to get a decent one!

  5. It’s very beautiful … i have some bunny fluff in my stash waiting, too. Maybe a hat would be a perfect project for it. Happy Easter from Virginia, Ivonne

  6. Connie Gyer

    Any news from the grad schools? I have my fingers crossed for you.

  7. That hat is ridic fluffy, it’s perfect. Angora at its finest! And I must know, where did you find turquoise skinny jeans? They need to be mine!

    • Charlotte Russe, on sale for $15!!! Stretchy and comfy and PERFECT.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

