Monkey Business. 

Friends, I have been a knitting machine lately!! I have quite a few projects awaiting their turn for a photo shoot, as the weather has been singularly uncooperative in the last few weeks. The last you had heard from me, I had ditched all of my projects for a baby sweater.. and I’m happy to tell you that now it’s done! And it is insanely cute. It’s rare (at least for me) to have a project leap fully formed into my brain, and then be knit out of my brain in the exact way that I had imagined it. But, wonder of wonders, that’s exactly what happened with this sweater. I was organizing my yarn leftovers (I’m working on displaying them rather than having untidy half or quarter skeins lying around getting fuzz on them, but more on that later.) (as another aside,  am I the only one who has a seemingly infinite amount of lint in their house? It’s got to be at least partially a byproduct of knitting and spinning, but I sweep, dust, and clean, and then MERE MOMENT LATER my entire apartment is once again covered in fuzz.) Wow that was a lot of digressions. Back to my story. 

I was trying to organize my leftovers, when I realized that I had a lot of Berocco Ultra Alpaca in a very pleasing color palette. I had been mulling over the idea of a striped raglan cardigan in a baby size, but then I saw these balls of yarn together and I had an Idea.  

I knew that the sweater would need wooden animal buttons, and my LYS (Stitch House in Dorchester, lovely store) totally had my back.  

 

They are absurdly, wonderfully perfect. I know that some of you are all like “OMG you can’t give a baby a sweater made from non-superwash wool!” and the truth is, I know he’s going to drool on it, and get food on it, and all those things that small humans do. However, I have previously gifted two washable sweaters to my Aunt Chantal, Colson’s mum, and she refuses to put them in the washing machine anyway. She might as well get  proper good wooly sweaters if that’s the case, just in my humble opinion.  Dude, she’s got seven kids, and takes the time to handwash his knits. And he wears them all the time!! She mentioned over Christmas that his first sweater seems to resist getting dirty. That’s part of the magic of wool, though that one also has a touch of angora for extra cuddliness. There’s a reason why Colson gets the knits. His mom takes fantastic care of them and loves them, and he’s just about the cutest little nugget imaginable. So after all my blathering, want to see the sweater? Of course you do.  

         

And naturally there must be a closeup of the all-important monkey buttons.  

It’s quite a simple top-down raglan. I didn’t work from a pattern, just cast on and knit until things looked right to me. The shape is a pretty simple and classic one, and I got some sizing info for babies off the Internet so I could at least make sure my dimensions weren’t way off. 

Now this came out a little big, because I was trying to use up all my yarn. I’m actually totally okay with that though. It’s more like a 2-3 year old size, and it’s a well known and oft-lamented fact that babies grow extremely fast. He will be wearing this in no time, although I wish I could get modeled shots sooner. I’m sure that they will be super cute when they do materialize. Now off to do more baby knitting, my friend Katica from the office is expecting her first on May 4th. You better believe I’ve been making ALL the Star Wars jokes. (For those who don’t get it, “May the Fourth be with you.”) Until next time peeps! 

4 Comments

  1. Cool, and of course the buttons are super cute. I sure wish I could be a knitting machine… Someday…

  2. Love this! Brilliant use of stash and the buttons are a perfect finishing touch 🙂

  3. Adorable!!! I want one in my size… Monkey buttons and all! 🙂

  4. ahh so cute! what a perfect colorway too (:

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

