Project love.

Hey kids!

Today I’m going to talk about how much I love both of my current projects. The first one is from handspun yarn, and there’s always something a little extra special about yarn you spun yourself. It’s like getting the perfect present because you picked it out. Not only that, I finally am knitting a Hitchhiker scarf. It’s got over 18,000 projects on Ravelry, and that’s because it’s super crazy bonkers fun. Watching the strips of color emerge is oddly fascinating, in a dorky “I can’t wait to see what color is next!” kind of way. I’m knitting it out of my Malabrigo handspun in the Archangel colorway, which you may recognize if you follow me on Instagram. 3.5.15.1

The colors are beautiful, and since they change in pretty long repeats, they really lend themselves to the Hitchhiker pattern. Check it out!

3.5.15.3 3.5.15.2

Sorry about the lighting in these pics. I’ve been working late a lot, and so I don’t get any natural light for my photos most of the time. At least the days are starting to get noticeably longer now!

Isn’t the yarn knitting up beautifully? I just knit in a gold section and the whole time it made me happy. The whole scarf is making me think of a tropical sunset now, which is great, because there is no color in the world right now. At least not in Boston. I’m having to substitute the color in my knitting for the spring flowers that I really wish would show up. Seriously weather, it’s time to get the memo and start acting like spring.

My second project is not for me, though now that I’m knitting it I sortof wish it was. But alas, it’s for Greg (he generally deserves knitted love though.) I was scrolling through Instagram, when I saw a picture of one of Yarn Enabler’s crazy cool Socks that Look Like Stuff. (Not the official name, but it’s kindof her theme.) She’s got socks that look like No. 2 pencils, strawberries, Superman (with cape!), cupcakes, and a variety of fun and awesome stripy sock yarns (some of which is mine now, MUAHAHAHAHA) Here’s the link to her Etsy shop if you realized that you can no longer live without some of this sock yarn. Which I don’t recommend doing. Do you know that sometimes people who don’t have this yarn die? It’s true. I wouldn’t risk it if I were you.

Anyway, I got a little sidetracked by how nice the yarn is. (It’s super soft! I love it!) I was looking at an Instagram photo of one of her cool socks, and I happened to show it to Greg. He thought it was pretty interesting, but when I mentioned that she dyed watermelon sock yarn, (a green toe with a white stripe, and then the rest of the sock is pink with black flecks for seeds.) he was enthralled. He had to have it. (Greg’s got a thing about watermelons. He tried to steal the watermelon sock yarn I spun ages ago and he doesn’t even know how to knit.) I told him that he had several nice pairs of socks that I had knit him, and that he didn’t wear them terribly often, so I wasn’t going to knit him any more until it seemed like he was getting ample wear out of them. His explanation, however, cracked me up. He said that he couldn’t bring himself to wear them because he didn’t want them to get holes. They were pretty and he loved them, but OMG WHAT IF THEY WORE OUT and then he didn’t have them anymore?? I had to explain to him that that is the point of socks! I’ve made him so many things that won’t wear out, but once you make someone something that’s going to be around for a while you can’t make them another one. He’s got a super cool stuffed Link from Legend of Zelda, a Companion Cube from Portal, Gir from Invader Zim, and a tiny crocheted blue octopus. I can’t really make him any more stuffed animals. Socks are a good token of love simply because they will wear out. And when they do, I can make him another pair. Besides, it’s cold in Boston. He should be wearing the warmest socks that he has! So he promised to wear his handknit socks more and try not to freak out about them getting holes, and I? Well, see for yourself.

3.5.15.4

I’m almost to the heel 🙂

13 Comments

  1. What a brilliant idea! Those watermelon colours look so juicy (if yarn can be called juicy?). The handspun is beautiful too.

  2. Great projects.

  3. Ok, I just LOVE this yarn. It looks so juicy!!!

  4. Your projects are such fun … enjoy every stitch!

  5. Those socks are so freakin’ awesome!

    • your yarns are awesome i love the rich colors even more….I would love to keep in touch with you more often….did you ever get our birthday card and check?

  6. knittedblissjc

    I love the yarn you’ve chosen for the shawl, it’s beautiful! I hear you on the whole lack of daylight for photos problem- I basically can only get photos on the weekends during winter, and then I have to batch them up- makes for less relaxing weekends. Those watermelon socks are so cute!

  7. Girl, your hand spun is GORGEOUS!

  8. woman, you have a way with words! lol, i almost went and bought my own watermelon socks! haha! thank you for the lovely words dear!

  9. oh wow that handspun!! love to see your wip photos 🙂

  10. Your Archangel handspun is sooo gorgeous.

  11. I really enjoyed the hitchhiker pattern. Thanks for reminding me. Yours looks lovely, lovely enough to inspire me to maybe knit another this year 🙂 Love the watermelon striped socks. They are a great gift idea!

  12. tinywhirlwind

    *gasp* Your handspun yarn is beautiful! Can’t wait to see your finished Hitchhiker! 😀

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

