I’m back! 

So, long blog silence huh? 

I have been gone for a long time! It wasn’t really intentional, but I’ve been in the process of hearing back from the schools I applied to in the fall. I’ve gotten hosts of rejection letters, but that’s okay! I only need one of them to say yes. The waiting and the stress don’t do much for your creativity though. I have been knitting, but in more of a medicinal way rather than having tons of new ideas. I do have a few percolating, but they’re still in the primordial ooze of ideas. When they’re ready to come out into the world, you’ll see them, I promise 😛 

Now, on to the knitting content! I finished this utterly beautiful sweater for my mother. It was supposed to be a Christmas gift, but it ended up as a “month and a half after Christmas” gift instead. However, it fits, and it looks beautiful on her. Extra awesomely, she loves it! 



Doesn’t it look great? It looks brown from far away, but close up it’s actually purple and green and tan. She wears a lot of brown, so it should be a good wardrobe staple for her. It’s a Wispy cardigan, and the yarn is Madelinetosh Prairie. It only took one skein! Wheeee! It took forever to knit. I don’t know why I didn’t immediately see that a laceweight sweater as a Christmas present was a losing game for sure, but my excuse is that my ability to logic was muddled by all my applications. 

Now, on to spinning. I was spinning up some Cormo by Cottage on the Hudson, but it royally ticked me off so you don’t get pictures until my rage has abated. I was so excited to spin it, but the fiber was neppy and felted. SO MUCH HATE. I only had two ounces anyway, and I didn’t want to spend a whole lot of time with the infuriating fiber. I figured I’d use it for an experiment since I wasn’t invested in how it turned out. I made a traditional 3 ply instead of the chain ply I normally do, and I have to admit that I liked the way it blended the colors. It was mostly green and red, and it came out looking a bit like a tartan, which can’t be a bad thing. It’s soft too, but I haven’t had this much trouble spinning anything since my very first project. Boo hiss. I have some other cormo in my stash, and the prep on that looks JUST FINE. I hate to give a bad review, but I bought this in person at Rhinebeck, and the lady who sold it to me shouldn’t have let me buy it. They were almost out of stock, but that’s no excuse for selling badly prepared fiber. She also assured me that the pin drafted roving would spin up easily. Whatever (liar.) I’m a pretty okay spinner, and this fiber made me doubt my own skills. It turned out okay, but unevenly, and it was super annoying to spin. 

So after that I needed a happy palette cleanser. It was Hobbledehoy to the rescue, with a set of batts in the Starship colorway!! 



Glorious, non? The colors are brilliant, and the texture contrasts are divine. It’s mostly merino, with stripes of black and turquoise tussah silk, and little blue sparkles throughout. It was crazy fun to spin. I tore it into strips roughly by color so that it wouldn’t get muddy. 



And the final result was amazing. 







This is actually about 800 yards total, of a sport weight single ply. It’s a little thick and thin, getting down to a laceweight in some spots, so I’m thinking shawl or scarf. I’m absolutely flabbergasted by the yardage. This was four ounces people! I just have to contemplate what pattern would best show off the color variation-I’m picky about yarns with big color contrasts. Input is always welcome! I’m in love with this, and now I’m already on to my next project! 

Yum yum. It’s Hey Lady Hey superfine merino in the Laguna colorway.  I linked to her new website, but she’s in the process of moving off etsy to her own digs, so check back later if you want to buy things. It’s soft as a newborn kitten, and a dream to spin! (I stayed up far too late last night working on it, that’s how I know.) See you next time friends!  

5 Comments

  1. I was wondering where you had disappeared to. It’s good to see you back.

  2. shellssells

    Hm, I’ve had similar experiences with vendors at fiber shows. Seems like when I go back to find them online, they really don’t have a strong online presence or shop, so you don’t get much recourse. Very frustrating. But, the batts? Totally gorgeous.

  3. Wow, the colors in your handspun are simply amazing!!! I generally don’t like too many colors in a yarn, but this one just looks gorgeous!

  4. Your mom’s cardigan is perfect! I don’t think she minds that it’s a post-Chrir

  5. whoops, premature send! post-Christmas gift. It looks great on her.

    Your new yarn is really pretty. I tend to have to break up variegated yarns with semi-solids to have them make sense to me. Have fun with it! And sorry about your uncooperative Cormo.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

