Better Late than Never.

This baby has been sitting around waiting for a finished object post for a LONG time. During the fall my life sortof exploded, and while I have been wearing it frequently, finding a person to model or take photos and enough daylight that you could actually see it seemed impossible. However, I forced my little brother to take pictures of me wearing it, so here you go 🙂

IMG_8101 IMG_8104

photo 2

This is Caterpillar Green Yarn’s amazing self-striping shawl yarn. That means no weaving in ends, just perfectly even stripes showing up as you knit your triangular shawl. It’s incredible. I used the Boneyard Shawl pattern (free on Ravelry) placing the purl rows so that they would demarcate the colors perfectly. Not only is the idea remarkably clever, the yarn itself is a lovely treat. It’s merino, cashmere, and nylon, and it’s soft and strong at the same time. I adore it, and it’s fabulously warm too. It’s figured largely in my winter coping strategy this year. These are my three favorite colors, all combined beautifully. The shades are perfectly rich and saturated. It also matches my current favorite nail polish!

photo 3

I have a problem though. I got to try this as a test knitter, but now I want it in every color. Or Peacock and Warm and Fuzzy at the very least. I’m entranced by this yarn. I must have more! However, it’s been sold out basically forever. I think I may have the Yarn Harlot to blame for that. She knit a shawl out of it, and she’s got a LOT of readers. People have gone bonkers for this yarn, and it is seriously impairing my ability to obtain more! I’m not even a big stripes person, and I’m totally obsessed. I may be stacking the deck against me even further by writing about it here.. Which makes me want to not publish it so I can hoard all the yarn for myself. But I won’t. Because that would be wrong.

I’ll finish up with a shot of how I normally wear it. Bunched up around my neck, filling in that gap at the top of my coat. (also I love how it matches my purple coat.)

photo 1

So, moral of the story. This stuff is awesome. It’s like crack for knitters. (or potato chips, since I don’t think I can knit just one.) You should go buy some, but, you know. Save a skein or two for me.

11 Comments

  1. Gorgeous colours! And little bro is getting pretty good at photography!

  2. Beautiful! I love the colors. When I first read the fiber content I thought it said ‘mango’ not ‘merino’. That’s what I get for reading blog posts before I finish my coffee…

  3. shellssells

    I’ve often had that moment where I want to tell people of something awesome but don’t want to tell people because then they’ll KNOW and I won’t be able to have what I want.

    Totally happened with Inglenook batts. *sigh*

    The scarf is gorgeous and the colors perfect. I am not surprised about the yarn being “harlotized.” It really is the most clever thing!

  4. Beautiful!!! I think I want one too. 🙂

  5. susancardoza

    This is SO pretty!!

  6. Those are also my favorite colors, and stripes are so happy, you better guard that FO with your life if we ever meet. 🙂 I’ve been occasionally checking the page looking for restocks but no luck so far. While one could just knit a stripey shawl oneself, there’s something magical about the self-striping stuff.

  7. Connie

    Fabulous!

  8. You are so amazing….I can’t believe you are my granddaughter! You are creative and gracious….very other oriented and giving….gentle and in tune with fabrics and colors that stimulate my soul. It was such fun having you here with all of us… your life is full of rainbow colors of indistinguishable possibilities…..it is creativity in progress! It is an adventure being with you. Thank you for your encouragement to Charlie…He was so charged with your attention! You have an amazing ability to stimulate and energize….think about this as you plan for your future. Love you, Nana
    Hey….what is your favorite verse?

  9. gmcgee11

    Love you….hope you are staying warm. I heard you have freezing weather there. I pray our memories together will help you forget the cold temps when you were here.

  10. Great colors. And I love the nail polish.

  11. iletait1maille

    Going to my wish list right away ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

