Upping the dose.

Hey friends!

I know it’s been all spinning all the time around here, but this post is shockingly brought to you by KNITTING! I won a Cloudlover yarn club as part of the Socks with Sarah knitalong. For all those who have never heard of it, the point of this knitalong is to integrate the knitting of socks more into your life, not necessarily in a big way, but as a reminder that a little bit of knitting here and there really adds up! I used to carry a pair of socks around in my purse, and I should start doing so again. My last purse was too small for it, but my new one has just enough extra space for a sock in progress 🙂 It really takes the edge off of having to wait. (Which I have to do a lot of in my job.)

So I thought I would show you my three beautiful skeins.. 11.12.14.1

They are all just lovely. The names of the colorways from left to right are Night Blooms, Tiger Lily, and Apple Picking, and I think that they are all perfect. They’re also all variegated, which I tend to be picky about, but I love them all. The two on the right are superwash merino and nylon, tightly spun and perfect for socks. The one on the left is a loosely spun 50/50 merino/silk. Since socks in that yarn would have holes in a heartbeat, I needed something else. A shawl, I thought, would be the perfect project for such a precious yarn. I wanted to be strong, and only work on Christmas presents, but I hadn’t been knitting much lately at all. Also, I got the yarn about two weeks ago, and I haven’t been able to put it away. It’s been sitting on my bedside table where I can pet it occasionally. It’s so soft, just feeling the silkiness is wonderfully soothing.

So I started a shawl. I was worried about the variegation bothering me, but so far it looks really pretty. I’m making the Light and Up shawl, as I was cruising through the Ravelry projects and it seems to look pretty with variegated yarn. The lace pattern is simple and pretty mindless, so I think it should work with this yarn. It’s also an elongated triangle instead of a right triangle, and I think that will help it stay around my neck. (I normally wear shawls with the point in the front and the ends wrapped around my neck, more like a scarf or a kerchief.) It also has tassels, and I’ve always wanted to make a shawl with tassels.

Here’s the yarn all caked up:

11.12.14.2

And here’s the beginning of the shawl. I think it’s lovely, despite my prejudice against variegated yarns. I think it looks like a flower.

11.12.14.5 11.12.14.4 11.12.14.3

I think I’d just had it with the deadlines and the pressure and all of that. There’s enough of that in the rest of my life without it also carrying over into my knitting. Now I’m knitting something for no other purpose than to relax, and it is good. Turns out I just needed to up the fiber dosage from merino to merino and silk. What can I say? I just like to be fancy.

6 Comments

  1. Relaxing knits are the best!

  2. That pattern is perfect for that yarn! I love working with variegated yarns, but you do have to find the right project for it not to look like color barf.

  3. Fay

    That lovely yarn looks lovely knit up. The shawl will be gorgeous.

  4. I love these colors. I haven’t started my Christmas knitting yet either…

  5. Lovely yarn and the perfect pattern for it 🙂

  6. Jen

    Lovely ! I get the pickiness about varigation, for sure. I think yours will be more like tweedy flecks than the long stripes & blotches. 🙂 Happy Holidays knitting

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

