In which I force the muggles to admire my yarn.

Well, just one muggle so far, but I’ll get to that later. I also don’t promise that I won’t carry this yarn around with me and make random strangers look at it. (only my friends will get to touch it.) What’s that? You don’t know what I’m talking about? That’s because I started in the middle of my story just to be confusing. Back to the beginning.

In my last post, I had left you with a little peek at my next spinning project. (The spinning continues apace because it turns out that it is a magical cure for writer’s block. The reason behind that is, (I think) that I am a very prolific writer. The only thing that can keep me from being able to write is anxiety, and spinning melts anxiety. It’s pretty much a huge win, because I love spinning, and I REALLY love not having writer’s block when I need to write a ton of stuff.) Well, I can’t remember the last time I had so much fun with a project. It was brilliant. Despite the textured bits in the fluff, it wanted to be spun really fine, and it was prepared so nicely that I didn’t get any huge lumps. I got a few small lumps because of sari silk and glittery bits, but they were just charming. So charming. In what seemed like no time at all, I had these singles. 11.10.14.1

Aren’t they lovely? They’ve got just tons of character, with some bits being shiny from the silk, others fuzzy and matte from the merino, and with adorable little bits and bobs of other things in just for kicks. I was completely entranced by the singles, and I knew I was going to be besotted with the yarn. Did I let my singles rest, as you are supposed to? (No, no I did not. I never do and have yet to be struck by lightning, though some of my plying sessions are complicated by my refusal to delay gratification.) I sat down and plied immediately, and before you knew it, I had this yarn. 11.10.14.3 11.10.14.2

I might’ve done a little dance for joy when it was finished. It completely deserved it. What started out as only TWO OUNCES of luxury tribbles from Gourmet Stash became 340 yards of lovely laceweight! That’s some of the finest yarn I’ve ever spun, and I’m thinking it’s going to be a tiny scarfy/kerchief thing. I think I have enough to make a tiny Ishbel, and I think that’s going to be its fate.  The lace is simple enough that A) I can actually do it, and B) the texture and whimsy of the yarn won’t be lost, and won’t completely obscure the pattern. (I think.) Here’s a closeup:

11.10.14.4

You can really see all the different textures here, because the bits with mulberry silk gleam like jewels, and when they’re plied next to the plain merino there’s an interesting contrast. The majority is shades of green, but I actually love the fuschia with it. It’s enchanting.

Greg came over last night, and I went and grabbed the yarn so I could wave it around at him. “Look at it! Look at it!” I said, and shoved it into his hands to admire. He held it with a slightly perplexed look on his face, and I assumed it was because I was being profoundly odd again. (That happens with some frequency, alas.) I asked him why he was confused, and he said “The coloration in this reminds me of something. Maybe an insect?” I was hoping that it was a butterfly or something, but no. Apparently what it reminded him of was a grasshopper. Now that he said that, I can kindof see it, although we don’t have really bright and colorful grasshoppers up here in Massachusetts like we do down south. I still refuse to refer to it as the grasshopper yarn though.

As a side note about Greg, I always find it endearing that he tries to be respectful and appreciative of my knitting and spinning hobbies, despite the fact that he doesn’t really understand the appeal. (He’s not in general a very anxious person, that might be why.) He listens to me yammer on about things constantly, and sometimes I’m surprised by how much he picks up. I think the reason is that he’s got a passion for improving things, and whenever I make him something I do a lot of little customizations to make them perfect. So the last scarf I made him has silk content for extra warmth, is woolen spun for plushness and to trap more air in the fibers, and knit in a textured pattern so it’s thicker. And he could probably tell you all those things because he would want you to know why his scarf is better than yours. (I really need to blog that scarf..) He’s cute and I like him.

Also, next project? photo 5 (5)

Yum.

9 Comments

  1. So pretty!!!!

  2. Loving the yarns you’ve been spinning up! I’m waaay too excited about that blue at the bottom though…it looks just like the most beautiful sky!

  3. So pretty! Very nicely spun, my dear. And I wouldn’t say grasshopper. Perhaps a tropical butterfly? 🙂

  4. Beautiful spinning! So evenly spun and the color is beautiful

  5. It makes me think of a dragonfly with its iridescent wings.

  6. Your yarn is gorgeous! I love how the contrasting magenta adds interest. Great yardage, too, for only 2 oz!

  7. impyimp

    I think it looks just amazing 😀 I really love your handspun yarn!

  8. knittedblissjc

    holy smokes, your handspun is so gorgeous! I loved it as a single ply, and then I kept reading and scrolling, and then was blown away by how stunning it looked all plied up. That is one helluva special skein now!

  9. That’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

