Little wheels keep on turning.

I was going to say “big wheels” but my wheel is seriously tiny. It’s part of why I love it. The thing is super cute and doesn’t take up much space.

This is just a quick post to let you know that spinning continues apace! I finished the soft and yummy polwarth, which was so lovely and perfect that it practically spun itself! While spinning natural-colored fibers can get a little wearing, it was a pleasure from start to finish. It turned into about 350 yards of springy, smooshy goodness, and it pleases my greatly because the yardage on the last two skeins I spun is almost EXACTLY the same. How’s that for consistency?? It’s also just sooooo soft. I can’t seem to stop rubbing it on my face.11.5.14.1 11.5.14.2 11.5.14.3

It’s also just really, really beautiful. I love the texture of handspun. I love how there are slight variations within the skein, how it isn’t precisely perfect. I know that some people are trying to create the most perfect handspun possible, and I respect that. Pursuing your art in the highest form is always a laudable thing. However, for me personally, I like the slight unevenness that means it was made by human hands and not a machine. I like that the knitted fabric will look just the slightest bit pebbly because there are spots where the yarn gets thicker.

I also love that this yarn matches the last one I spun as exactly as is possible for me right now. Check them out together!

11.5.14.5 11.5.14.4

They’re going to be a really awesome hat/mitten set. They already look like they belong together. Right now they’re sitting on my coffee table, and every once in a while I reach over and smoosh them because they are just too pretty. Yay for having yarn pets.

And, because the unmitigated white got a little soul-crushing after a while, my next spinning project is almost as different as it could possibly be.

11.5.14.6 11.5.14.7

Oh yes. These little puffs are luxury fiber tribbles from Gourmet Stash, and they are going to be about a million yards of laceweight. They’re just the slightest bit textured, enough that this yarn is going to have tons of visual interest when it’s done. There’s yak, silk, superfine merino, snips of sari silk and just the teeniest hint of sparkle. I’m smitten. I can’t wait for the yarn to come into being, so I can commence petting and snuggling it.

Can I also just mention how awesome spinning and blogging are? Spinning helps me chill out when applications start to feel like too much, and blogging gets my creative writing juices flowing. It’s just a nice little reminder that I’m not actually a completely crap writer, and that things are going to be okay. They’re both worth their weight in gold as far as calmness and confidence are concerned.

11 Comments

  1. shellssells

    I have created The Perfect Yarn, more consistent than commercial yarn. But, do I knit with it? No, it’s too generic. I end up being drawn to that which looks handspun and imperfect. I feel like I’ve done something right because I am capable of creating as close to perfection as is possible, but that’s not actually what I WANT to create. I am with you, the differences is what gives it all such wonderful individuality.

    • Exactly! It’s wonderful to be able to create something that’s practically perfect, but with handspun you want to know that the yarn was handmade 🙂

  2. So beautiful! And I love your perfectly imperfect yarn philosophy. It’s a great reminder for me right now since I’m feeling a little rusty. But it really does makes spinning so much more enjoyable and freeing, along with giving the yarn more character. Can’t wait to see your finished pieces!

    • Not long after I started spinning, I heard the story of Persian rug weavers who always left one deliberate flaw in their rugs because “only Allah is perfect.” It’s a good reminder for me of the beauties inherent in imperfection 🙂

      • I love that! I hear the Amish do that with their work as well… Although you probably wouldn’t want your knitting flaw to be something like a dropped stitch. 😉

  3. Lovely, those skeins are perfect together! What kind of wheel do you have? I’m in the market…

    • It’s a Merlin Tree Roadbug. I can’t recommend it highly enough. It’s small and light enough that it fits easily in a tote bag, and the price is extremely competitive! less than $400 for the double treadle model.

      • Awesome I’ll have to try one out!

  4. Fay

    I love your handspun! So pretty.

  5. Lovely! I’ve always been intrested in spinning but never tried it. The hat and mitten yarn set looks beautiful together. I love the pinkish with white hints in it.

  6. Your handspun looks lovely.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

