Wanna see some pretty yarn pictures?

But of COURSE you do. That’s why you’re here after all.

Naturally though, me being me, I’ll have to delay the gratification for just a wee bit. (For those of you not so inclined, the pictures will be at the end of the post. You’re welcome.) I’m working my way very slowly towards a hat and mitten set. I do need a little bit of advice though. Does the Beaumont Tam go with these Frejya mittens? My feeling is that the stylized heart motifs on both would contribute to them being a set, particularly if the same yarn was used for both. I’m going for a similar color scheme to the pattern pictures, a creamy white Polwarth with a pink/red Polwarth/silk blend. So let me know what you guys think.

I have finally finished the glorious pink yarn, washed it, fluffed it, and endlessly petted it. It’s beautiful stuff, with plenty of barberpoling, but it’s not too drastic because the colors are tonal and pretty. Three Waters Farm is one of my favorite indie dyers out there. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again. SO yummy! This fiber was soft and a delight to play with. It also has contributed greatly to me not being a complete nervous wreck while application season is in full swing. Quite the accomplishment, that. I love how soft and luscious the finished yarn is. I also got pretty good yardage! It’s about 350 yards of a fingering to sport weight yarn. I was going for something slightly lighter, but I’ll just have to fiddle around a bit with the gauge on my projects to be sure it works out.

And now, for the big reveal! I adore this yarn, I think it shows demonstrable progress for me as a spinner. I’m definitely getting better at getting yarn that is close to what I wanted, rather than just whatever yarn the universe has in store for me. That’s quite an exciting development, though I’ve still got a ways to go before I picture a yarn in my mind and then perfectly recreate it. Despite the fact that it’s the teeniest bit heavier than I wanted, it’s nice and even and looks scrumptious. Check it out!11.2.14.3 11.2.14.1 11.2.14.2 11.2.14.5 11.2.14.4

The yarn would like to note that she greatly enjoyed posing for her glamour shots. The camera loves her, don’t you think?

8 Comments

  1. knittedblissjc

    oooh, that handspun is gorgeous! No wonder it’s so photogenic. You did an awesome job!

  2. That looks beautiful! And it seems like it would be a dream to work with. Great job!

  3. Beautiful yarn!

  4. So lovely! It’s making me feel a desperate need to start spinning regularly again!

  5. Beautiful handspun, congrats πŸ™‚ I think the mittens and the hat can be a good combo, if knitted with a similar yarn in the same color scheme. Good find!

  6. I think the hat and mittens are a good combo! The hearts at the top of the hat closely resemble the heart on the mittens. If you wanted an exact match I’m sure you could change the chart on the mitts to match the hat exactly.

  7. Pretty!! You never fail to deliver lovely yarn photos. Oh, and spin lovely yarn too, of course. πŸ˜‰

  8. Oh my goodness! So much yum here!!

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, FΓ€rben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

