One Hat, Three Ways!

Hi Friends!

I have a veritable parade of finished things to show you, but I’m going to drag it out because that’s how I roll. Besides, where’s the fun in showing it all at once?? Then I’d be out of blog material 😛

Some of you may remember, if you spend much time on the blog, that I was working on a hat for my grandpa. When last you heard of it, I had spun the yarn out of some absolutely scrumptious merino/yak. I am now happy to tell you that it is all finished! Not only that, there are three different ways to wear it, with increasing levels of hipsterdom 😛 (I would like to take a moment and say that no matter how slouchy his hat might be, my grandpa couldn’t possibly be a hipster. I may, be, however, since not only am I wearing a slouchy hat in some of these pictures, I couldn’t corral a photographer so they are selfies.) For those of you who don’t know what a hipster is, they’re sortof hard to describe. I would say that hipsters are a group of people who try really hard to be cool while pretending that they don’t care about being cool, and they do a lot of things “ironically.” Also, they seem to be really into music, but less to actually enjoy it and more so they can brag about the obscure bands they like (thus making them seem cool.) I am making fun of them in this blog post. It’s very enjoyable.

Hat Style #1, the typical Watch Cap:

9.19.14.1

This style says, “I don’t care about being cool, I just want to be warm.” The double layer of fabric covers the ears and much of the head, keeping the cold out. It’s super snuggly and warm! Perfect for when the wind is blowing and you still have to go outside. It’s also the cutest (on me) of all the styles I think. I will remember this for future reference.

Hat Style #2, Slightly Slouchy:

9.19.14.2

9.19.14.3

With this style, there’s still a concession to extra warmth. The hat is still folded up slightly for ear protection, but it’s just a wee bit slouchy at the top. This style has aspirations to coolness, but there’s still an element of practicality. Of course, I’m a total dork, so even a slightly cool hat style isn’t going to do much for me 😛

Hat Style #3, the Full Hipster:

9.19.14.4 9.19.14.5

This style is absolutely hipsterrific. Totally slouchy, it knows how cool it is. This hat might look down on your taste in music and wear lots of flannel shirts. On me, it makes me look like one of the Seven Dwarfs from Snow White, but let’s try to ignore that fact.

All joking aside, I’m actually really proud of this hat. It’s warm, and soft, and totally too big for me, which is great, since my grandpa has a much bigger head than I do. I made it a little extra long because I didn’t want to waste the lovely handspun yarn that I used for it. It will be beautifully warm during colorado winters, and I don’t think that even the most sensitive skin could object to it. It makes a baby’s skin feel like sandpaper. Kittens are jealous of how soft it is. It’s also the first thing that I imagined and created practically from start to finish. I started out with an idea for fiber, and now I have a hat. It’s awesome! I love having that much artistic control over what I make. (It’s also nice when an idea actually comes to fruition the way you imagine.) Anyway, I hope that my grandpa likes the hat. My mom will be bringing it to him when she goes up to see my aunt’s new baby. Fingers crossed!

10 Comments

  1. Haha my favorite was the “absolutely hipsterrific” one! The yarn is gorgeous and the simple ribbed pattern really shows off how beautiful it is. Awesome hat.

  2. Beautiful hat! I am also working on a hat which I spun up from alpaca. Still a work in progress, from a design I make up as I go along!

  3. Looks SO Cozy! I want one! What kind of fiber did you use?

  4. sorry, missed that you said it was merino/yak. I totally want to make something with yak!

  5. Your post was hilarious, thank you for the much needed laughs. Hipsterific…just awesome. The hat looks brilliant, and I am so happy you were able to go from idea to finished item. I don’t doubt that your grandpa will love it. Great job both on the spinning and the knitting.

  6. That hat looks absolutely perfect! Looks so soft it almost makes me want to give up my habit of wearing kittens on my head in the wintertime. Perhaps if I ever take up spinning… 😉

  7. Jen

    Love your blog, I followed the breadcrumbs you left from posting on mine 🙂 xx

  8. Love the hats Lolly. I really want to knit a hat now!

  9. I love your hat and I hope you grandpa likes it! Your dismantling of hipster culture is inspired 😉

  10. Very nice hat!!

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

