Tour de Fleece update!

Well, my goals for TdF are going pretty well! (if by pretty well you mean that there’s no way I’ll ever finish before the end) I, however, am not in the least cast down by that. I have gotten two lovely yarns so far, which I’m just itching to show you!

First off, this is some merino from Three Waters Farm (I have all the love for their stuff.) Isn’t it perfection? I did a fractal spin, which basically just means that I split half of it up into little bits to get a subtle stripe. It looks like that worked, though it’s hard to tell from the photos. It came out to about 290 yards of a sport/DK weight, and it is just smooshy and bouncy and cushy like you wouldn’t believe.

20140722-105658-39418348.jpg

Secondly, I got this lovely bit of business. This is a merino/silk blend from Pigeonroof Studios, and it was simply a dream to spin. The colorway was Honeybee, and I think it is perfectly apt. I love how the colors in the fiber look almost glazed. It’s too lovely! I wanted the colors to be in little pops, so I split it into many thin strips on the advice of my Internet friends, and it worked like a charm! The benefits of having smart people at your virtual fingertips ๐Ÿ˜› This will almost certainly be a shawl, if I can make the design in my head a reality. I spun it as a low twist fingering weight single, and got 460 yards out of 4 ounces. That’s some of my best yardage yet!! It’s a little thick and thin, but I find that that’s part of its charm.

20140722-105849-39529889.jpg

Finally, I will show you the definition of “biting off more than I can chew.” I had this lovely white mulberry silk that I originally bought to ply with something else and then later decided against it. So it was just sitting around, waiting for its destiny to be made manifest.

20140722-105935-39575257.jpg

However, when I was at the Massachusetts sheep and wool fair (yeah, I went to that) I found something that would elevate it to pure art. There were these amazing prime angora carded batts, perfectly white and soft and airy like little clouds. They were heartbreakingly lovely, the way things are when they’re almost too perfect. (I have a serious love of angora, and I’ve never felt nicer angora. That’s saying something.) I only made two purchases at the festival, and this was the only one for me. I got two wee batts of this, and I imagined it plied with the mulberry silk. I thought of the softness and fuzziness paired with the smooth sheen of the silk, and I was inspired. Then I started spinning the silk singles, and let me tell you, it was NOT fun. This wasn’t the first time I had spun silk, but it was my first experience with mulberry silk sliver. I wanted it to be thin and even and smooth. It wanted to be lumpy and to fall apart at the least hint of too much tension. I kept trying different spinning methods, different drafting methods, any way possible to get it to spin nicely. I tried everything to beat this stupid fiber into submission, and it fought me every step of the way. I thought I would spin it up in an evening, whip up the angora the next day, ply them, and be on my merry little way in two, maybe three days. That was so far off it’s laughable. Three ounces of silk took me three days of near constant spinning, one of which was a Saturday. Not only that, when I would get up from spinning, I would look like silk worms had attacked me. There was silk EVERYWHERE. There would be silk in my hair, in my nose, stuck to my shirt, it was maddening. Add to that that I felt like I was spinning like someone had hit me with a stupid stick, and it was just entirely too much. When I finally got to the end of the silk, I favoured it with my opinion of its character and morals (of which I did not think highly) and did an obnoxious little victory dance because it was finally finished. Want to see?

20140722-110016-39616572.jpg

Pretty right? It looks innocent, but I assure you that it quite shook my confidence in my ability as a spinner. I wanted to challenge myself to spin finer than I had ever done before, because it could just be such brilliant lace, but the fiber compounded the challenge dramatically. After that, I moved on to this.

20140722-110126-39686574.jpg

Isn’t it just like a lovely little cloud? Don’t you want to bury your face in it? I eyed it with some misgiving, since the silk had me quite cast down, but once I started spinning it was like all of that had never been. The angora was a dream to spin. It just flowed through my fingers, effortlessly turning into beautiful, soft, fine singles. It was pure pleasure, and much needed after my horrible experience with the silk. The only thing they had in common was that the angora was inclined to cover me in a thin layer of fuzz as well, but I found even that to be charming. After a very short while spinning, I finished the angora. Here are the singles side by side:

20140722-110202-39722595.jpg

Now I’m going to ply them, and I really hope that the reality lives up to my idea of it. (it would really be a shame to be disappointed after all the work I put into it.) I think it will though. I have never spun finer singles, so I expect to get really good yardage from these! I’ll let you know what happens when it’s all plied up. And after that I’ve got this:

20140722-110235-39755223.jpg

And this:

20140722-110300-39780171.jpg
I can’t wait! I need more color in my life.

10 Comments

  1. Oh, it is going to be absolutely lovely, and worth every fight. I am with you – the sheen of silk and the halo of angora – delicious!

    • I sure hope so! I have pretty high expectations for this mix ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Love the yarns! The angora and silk each look crazy gorgeous (way to persevere there); can’t wait to see them plied together.

    • I want to get it plied, realize it’s something like 800 yards, and then feel vindicated about how long it took ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. I love the honeybee colours – look forward to seeing it knitted up as a shawl!

  4. Mmmmm that’s yummy yarn (and fleece). Makes me wish I spun more. I’m going to have to fix that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Honeybee is a wondrous spin…it is so full of life and feeling and expression. It will be an extraordinary shawl. I have never spun singles before…the low twist must have been challenging. Did you full them in the finishing? The angora is a triumph.

  6. Wow! They are all gorgeous! You are getting so good on that wheel of yours! The colors of Honeybee are so yummy, it makes me want to taste it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Can’t wait to see the shawl! I’m a little surprised you had so much trouble with the silk sliver, I recently worked with some of that myself, and it felt like it practically spun itself. What method did you use? Maybe it wasn’t processed very well? Regardless, it looks so smooth and even, and I can’t wait to see it with the angora. I did the same thing with kid mohair, and I loved how it looked… the haziness contrasting with the shiny silk, and the silk made the ply very strong. What are you going to make with it?

  7. Oooh, that Honeybee is so beautiful. I hope your shawl matches your dreams. It will be wonderful. And good for you for vanquishing the silk! It looked so beautiful, even before spinning. The last pink braid? strawberries and cream!

  8. Heyho^^
    I really like your blog! So I nominated you for the Liebster Award!
    http://kreativesballaballa.wordpress.com/2014/07/25/liebster-award/
    Sorry that itยดs in german >.< I hope you join us^^
    Greetings, ballabibi

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Fรคrben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

