A Tale of Two Yarns.

Well, I finished the Merino/Yak yarn for my Grandpa! It is one of the heavier things I’ve spun on my wheel, and I was completely stunned by how quickly it went! It’s about 200 yards of DK to chunky weight, but it’s mostly in the worsted weight range with only a few thick and thin spots. It’s the color of milk chocolate and I really love the softness of it. I think it will make a perfect warm hat for Colorado.

20140617-112610-41170555.jpg

20140617-112609-41169725.jpg

I want to start knitting it nownownow but I’m still committed to the baby sweater I am working on. It’s angora and incredibly squee, so it’s not as though it’s a big sacrifice. I don’t think there’s anything inherently better about having few projects instead of many, but I get overwhelmed if I have too much on my plate so I’m keeping the numbers low for now.

Anyway, that’s just one of the yarns I had to show you today! The other one has been a bit more under the radar. I felt like I was spinning it forever, but I never blogged about it! The yarn started out as this enormous smooshy batt from Upstream Alpacas: (Highly recommended, it’s lovely stuff.)

20140617-112657-41217333.jpg

Which was alpaca, angora, mohair, and silk. Dreamy, right? I decided, however, that more angora is never a bad thing, so I ordered an extra two ounces of lovely grey angora, opened up the batt, and sandwiched it right in the middle. It worked a treat too! I just tore off strips for spinning and the angora in the middle came with. The batt was smooth, but still had a bit of texture. The locks of mohair were actually more distinct from the other fibers, so there are some charming bumpy bits where there’s a bit more mohair than anything else.

20140617-112806-41286033.jpg

20140617-112804-41284235.jpg

20140617-112805-41285118.jpg

I love this yarn. It’s about 500 yards of fingering weight, with a lovely soft halo from the angora. Greg gave it a cuddle and said it was “crazy soft” so it gets the seal of approval from a non-yarny person too. (I put all of my recently spun yarns on him when I get bored, but this was the one he picked out for its softness.) I think this is going to be a pair of fingerless gloves for the winter, and a cute matching lacy beret. I love the Veyla pattern for gloves, and the ones I knit for my dear friend Natalie turned out beautifully. She apparently gets compliments on them all the time, so they must be stylish as well. I think I could modify the pattern so I could have a matching hat, which would be too cute for words. For someone who knits as much as I do, you would think that I’d have more winter accessories, but most of my knitted creations walk right out the door with my friends and family. I’m trying to fix that bit by bit, since it’s cold enough here that I really need such things! I think this will be an excellent start, as a pretty grey hat and mitt set will match everything and be quite classic.

Until next time yarny friends!!

7 Comments

  1. can’t wait to see the baby sweater!! you definitely deserve some squishy handknits for yourself (:

  2. I love love love the yarn you spun for your Grandpa’s hat. It looks so cushy!

  3. Oooo! Your new handspuns are divine! I wish I could reach through my screen and give them a squeeze beause they look incredibly soft and squooshy. 😀

  4. So beautiful! How did you learn to spin so well? Reading your blog when you were using a spindle inspired me to try it out. Then I saw the beautiful wheel you got for Christmas. I just got a wheel but for the life of me can not spin well at all.

  5. needleandspindle

    Well done you, especially on the bulky for Grandpa. I have heard that is quite a difficult think to do after spending so much time trying to spin fine. It looks great and will be wonderfully warm as a hat. And such a perfect colour for a mature gentleman. I have been spinning alot recently, and I remembered what you wrote recently about when you are stressed or anxious you spin. It really is a calmative isn’t it. I feel like there is no room for even measuring my knitting at the mo but I can spin and spin with a still brain…phew!

  6. I love how squishy the merino/yak looks! You are making me want to wander and buy some asap! Your Grandfather is going to love the hat you knit out of this luxurious fibre blend.

  7. knittedblissjc

    way to go, that handspun looks so professional I love it! I also love the silvery grey, it’s so pretty.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

