Socks for Me!!

Hello my lovely flowers!

(side note: boys can be lovely flowers too. If they want. I’m not leaving anyone out.)

I bring you something shocking on this fine day. I actually knit something for myself! (and it only took more than a year to finish the project :P) I almost overwhelmingly knit gifts, because wool=love in my mind. It’s not that I don’t love myself, it’s just that I don’t really think “Oh man, I just love and appreciate me so much! I should totally knit me something.” Which is often how I get started knitting something for someone else.

Anyway, I started knitting these socks a loooooong time ago, out of the now discontinued Cakewalk Yarns. (We mourn the passing of such lovely yarn. She moved on to bigger and better things, but her yarn shall never be forgotten.) I picked them up recently because I was in between projects and having UFO’s bugs me. Besides, I really wanted these socks! The speckly randomness of them charms me utterly.

20140612-153251-55971172.jpg

20140612-153300-55980622.jpg

20140612-153301-55981431.jpg

20140612-153312-55992896.jpg

Pretty, non? I call them my water lily socks, because to me, the colors evoke a beautiful impressionist painting. The pattern helps with that too, because the purl stitches make the colors seem to subtly swirl together. I love the result! Everyone loves Hermione’s Everyday Socks, and now I know why. I was knitting on these last year during Greg’s graduation in May, but not too long after that I got bogged down in Christmas knitting. I never picked them back up until just recently.

It’s funny to see how much you learn in a year! I realized now that I was knitting the socks at way too loose a gauge, so the fabric isn’t firm and sturdy. I also made the foot too short, so the heels are constantly slouching down πŸ˜› I know a lot more about socks now, since I’ve knit three pairs since I started these. I’ve definitely improved with each one! I’m not going to rip the socks back, but when they get a hole (as they will, swiftly) I’m going to unravel them and reknit them at a better gauge. It seems sad, but it’s actually encouraging to see that I’ve gotten to be a much better sock knitter since I started these! Besides, this yarn is lovely and doesn’t exist anymore, so it deserves a second lease on life.

Grandpa, if you are reading this, STOP RIGHT THERE. I love you lots, but don’t read anymore of this entry. (I am not being mean, I promise.)

Now, on to spinning. Ever since my total failure with the stripey socks (which I still owe you pictures of.) I’ve been thinking about what to knit my grandpa instead. My mom said that he would probably get much more use out of a hat, but hats are easy. I wanted to make it special, so I decided to spin the yarn myself. I knew that what would be the most useful would be a simple hat with reversible ribbing, long enough that the bottom could be folded up for a double layer around the ears. After I decided that, it only remained to find the perfect fiber, which I finally did at the Massachusetts Sheep and Wool fair. Check it out!

20140612-153418-56058678.jpg

20140612-153416-56056687.jpg

20140612-153417-56057585.jpg

I know that it looks pretty normal, but this is 50/50 merino/yak. It’s incredibly soft, and soooooo warm!! For those of you who have never come across yak fiber, it’s actually the downy undercoat of the yak that they shed in the spring. It’s for insulation in the Himalayas, so it’s super warm. It’s also very fine and soft, as is the merino wool it’s blended with. The fibers are both different colors too, which should make a lovely heathered yarn. I’m trying to spin thicker than normal, so we shall see how even it is. I’m going for a worsted/chunky weight for extra coziness in those Colorado winters. That will make a very warm, thick hat! I hope he likes it πŸ™‚

5 Comments

  1. Lolly, I must ask…how do you prefer to knit your socks? I tried one pair of baby socks 2 at a time cuff down and I liked the technique once I got the hang of it… I’m hesitant to start knitting another pair of socks (for me) because I don’t know if I want to attempt 2 at a time again…I also only have 1 skein which is about 412 yds. I will likely have to divide the skein into 2 if I want to knit 2 at a time…any suggestions would be great – thanks!!

  2. I can promise you that Grandpa will never read this….he is not into chick flicks or emails thaat contain more than two sentences. He is a bullet guy….he loses focus after the twenty-fifth word. He has big feet and they are always cold….he has peripheral neuropathy….he will love whatever you knit.

  3. The socks are lovely and the fiber looks so wonderfully cozy. I am sure your grandpa will love such a cozy and handsome hand knit.

  4. needleandspindle

    There is a lot to be gained from self compassionate knitting, much more than just another pair of socks. The fibre for Grandpa is like icecream. I think it is gonna feel sooo good to spin.

  5. I don’t spin (yet), but that fiber is gorgeous! It looks like it would make a really wonderful pet. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, FΓ€rben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

