Spindling revisited..

Guys, I am running out of titles for these posts. Someone help me think of something clever related to spinning! (I am not joking. If someone can come up with a good spinning related pun, leave it in the comments and I’ll use it as a post title.)

Some of you may think that since I have a wheel now, I don’t use my spindles anymore. If you assumed that, you assumed wrongly! I still use and love my spindles. In particular, I can’t use my wheel while watching shows on my laptop, so if I want to spin while I watch stuff, it’s gotta be a spindle. I have two types of spindles, one that’s just a normal learning spindle, about 2 ounces, from Ashland Bay. I use that for thicker stuff, or Navajo plying. (I still haven’t gotten the hang of Navajo plying on my wheel.) I also have quite a few lighter spindles from Tina’s Angoras on Etsy.

20140228-135028.jpg

These spindles are very light, super cost effective, and pretty pretty pretty. I have three, and they are gorgeous. I will admit, I frequently match them to the project I’m working on because I’m crazy like that. (leave me my little quirks. they bring me joy.) They also spin quite fine, which is important to me. My favorite yarns to work with tend to be fingering/sport weight, and because I don’t normally spin more than four ounces at a time, I need to spin thinner to get enough yardage to actually make stuff. I love them!

So on to my current project. You have all heard me talk before about how I love Inglenook Fibers. (Inglenook Fibers is da bomb dot com. I’ll fight anyone who disagrees. Go look at those pretty fibers and tell me that you don’t love them. Also, Macrina, the girl who dyes them, is just a peach.) Well I saw this a few months ago, and I just had to have it. Look at those colors!!!!

20140228-135130.jpg

20140228-135147.jpg

20140228-135204.jpg

It’s Polwarth and Silk in the Indian Corn colorway. Just stunning. Well, once I got it, I just kept it to pet for a little while. It’s soft like kittens and I adore it! But then I started to wonder what the heck I could actually use it for! I was seduced by the pretty colors and high contrast, but I wasn’t sure what it actually wanted to be. That is, until I saw the Princess Franklin Plaid Collar. It’s a garter stitch based plaid, which I think is very clever. Eureka! the pretty colors wanted to be plaid!! So I did this:

20140228-135434.jpg

20140228-135451.jpg

I split the braid up into its component colors, and started spinning each little battling on its own! (I don’t have a drum carder, I just pull the fiber into little bits and make a sandwich with the fibers facing the same way to blend the colors.) I’m tracking my yardage, and I will eventually do the math to decide how wide each stripe of the plaid will be. Probably with many gauge swatches, scribbled calculations, and the optional addition of unladylike language and tears 😛 But the end result will be worth it!! I love plaid, and I will really love plaid in these colors.

What do you guys think of my plan? Crazypants or awesome? Any advice on the best way to do this will be greatly appreciated.

19 Comments

  1. Love your spindles and the fiber…. I want, I want, I want! Cannot wait to see it spun into yarn. Yum.

    • Thank you!! Sometimes I just want to nest in all of my fiber 😛

  2. That collar is beautiful! I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

    • Me either! My first thought when I saw it was how awesome it would look in handspun.

  3. the plaid looks phenomenal! i am excited to see the fruits of your labors (:

    • I confess, I want them around my neck right this second 😛

  4. needleandspindle

    Clearly the project is awesomely crazy pants. Plaid from a plait…genius.

    • I think it’s less genius and more that I have no clue what I’m doing 😛

  5. Spin on this. Spinning fun. Spinning this, spinning that.

    • I am totally stealing these. Thanks!

      • You got it! More: Spindle town. Spindle into my life. Stop,Drop-spindle

      • W00t!!

  6. That’s so lovely! I have to admit that the thought of ripping a roving into colors gives me the shivers. (I’ve only done it once with an instructor holding my hand.) I just started spinning a year ago, so I admire you for trying something that sounds complicated to me.

    I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

    • Me either! I have a few of the little poufs spun up, and they’re delightfully tweedy and soft! I want the finished product already.

      • I can’t wait to see it!

  7. Crazy pants AND awesome!

  8. Spindle around and around…here we go

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

