2014: the year of sweaters!

Most of you probably know this already, but I’ve always been one for knitting small projects. I like the relative instant gratification, and once I’ve been knitting for a few weeks on the same project, I tend to get bored. However, that is going to change this year! Here’s why.

Last year I knit a sweater for Rhinebeck. It was a beautiful pattern, clever and clear,  and I am positively obsessed with the result. It’s my favorite sweater!! And, since it was worsted weight, I finished the entire thing in two weeks. I hadn’t thought that was possible, but a lacy pattern on large needles really does just fly by. I was emboldened by this success! I had never really looked at the sweater patterns on ravelry before, but now I was trolling them constantly, trying to find patterns that were worthy of a deeper commitment. I present to you my (by no means) final list. I’m going to try to knit all of these in 2014! I reserve the right to add to or subtract from this list entirely as I please, because that’s what I do 😛

1. Oshima, by Jared Flood.
I love this sweater. It looks amazingly cozy and warm and oversized. I think it may be the polar vortex talking, but I find myself craving sweaters that cover my hands, so I can snuggle into them and hide from the cold. I actually bought yarn for this already during a sale, so I’m reasonably committed! I’m going to use knit picks palette in a lovely heathered lavender. I’ve wanted a light purple sweater since my thrift store cashmere sweater developed holes.

2. Saturn Cardigan, by Hilary Smith Callis.
I don’t know about you guys, but I think this pattern is FABULOUS. I love the cleverness of the colorwork welts. They’re beautiful! And such a neat design feature. I’m not sure about the yarn yet, but I’m thinking white with grapefruit pink accents, maybe even with matching buttons for an extra special little pop of color!

3. Hugo by Veronik Avery.
I may have mentioned this before, but I have a bad habit of thieving Greg’s sweaters. One, in particular, has an almost magnetic charm for me. It’s a charcoal grey, long, oversized (on me) cozy thing that I adore wearing. It’s super warm, and so I end up having it a lot more than he does. I will admit, however, that during the last month when the temperatures have been VERY cold, I have felt just the least bit bad that he doesn’t have this sweater.. I offered to make him a replacement, and I was trying so hard to sell him on Hugo. However, it’s really not his style (too fussy. He’s quite minimalist when it comes to sweaters.) Finally, he said, “If you like it so much, make one for yourself!” and I realized that that was a much better plan! This one will be mine. I’m thinking a similar color to the original, but probably in Valley Yarns Northampton, which is waaaaay cheaper.

4. Beatnik by Nora Gaughan.
I have loved this sweater from the first moment that I saw it, but the orange doesn’t really speak to me. However, when I saw the beautiful modification that Tanis of Tanis Fiber Arts created for this sweater, I knew I needed one EXACTLY like it. She’s got these amazing smocked cables going, and it has a more elegant, dressy look than the original. I like it! I want to use TFA Green Label Aran Weight in Seabreeze, but this is one I’ll have to save up for. The yarn is pricey, but totally worth it! I’ve worked with her stuff in the past, and it is truly lovely.

5. Some hunter green cabled thing of my own devising. I’ve always wanted a sort of updated Aran sweater, in a lovely dark emeraldy green. I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted on Ravelry, so I’m going to make it up as I go along. I snagged some Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Sport on an absolutely ridiculous sale, (Don’t you love their sales? a sweater for sub $20 makes me feel powerful and accomplished :P)

That’s the list that I think I can actually get to. There are, however, a few more that are on my “pie in the sky” list.

6. Levenwick by Gudrun Johnson.
I love this sweater. LOVE IT. However, it’s one where I would be too sad making it in any yarn other than the original, so it’s another one I’ll be saving up for. Shelter yarn is beautiful, but not cheap. It’s such a lovely gold though, which actually goes with almost everything! I think I’m going to need to start a jar for yarn money 😛

7.  Antrorse by Shannon Cook.
My jaw literally dropped the first time I saw this sweater. I adore it! And every version I see on the blog circuit makes me covet it even more. My ideal color would be a similar one to the original as well. TFA Aran weight in Frost, maybe?

8. Ginny’s Cardigan by Mari Chiba.
I love this cardigan! I think I’d love it in a grey, gold, or blue. Maybe even teal! I think it would be very practical, since it would work with a lot of my dresses.

9. Sugar Maple by Carina Spencer!.
I’m actually planning to (eventually) spin the yarn for this myself! I’ve got two lovely identical gradient rovings, and I’m going to spin them up and ply them together. Hopefully I’ll have enough yarn, if not, I’ll create something that will work with the amount of yarn I have.

10. Moyen Age by Hanna Maciejewska.
I think the shape of this is just so so so flattering! Plus, I love the sortof Celtic vibe it’s got going on. The cables are super cool! I picture this in a dark blood red.

11. Seberg Sweater by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark.

This one is just way too vintagey and cute! I love the stripey neckline, and I think it would be totally adorable in the original bright scarlet. I love big dramatic collars!

12. Nachtfalter by Stefanie Pollmeier.

Summer Sweaters! I don’t actually have any of these, but I think we can all admit that this is adorable! I think it would look super cute with a pencil skirt, or even just with jeans, and the silhouette is really flattering for almost any figure. I like the original chartreuse color. So cute!

I am obsessed with sweaters! I don’t know how many of these I’ll end up actually making, but that’s my “dream team.” What about you?

P.S. Look what I’ve got on my wheel right now!!

2.4.14.1

2.4.14.2

This is Inglenook Fibers tussah silk in Robin’s Egg. Yum! It’s turning (very very slowly) into many yards of a lovely laceweight. I think it looks like mint ice cream!

11 Comments

  1. Can’t wait to see the end result of your spinning. Handspun yarn is my absolute favourite to work with.

    • I just keep hoarding it, but I really want to knit something with it! I just feel like I have to have the perfect pattern for it, because it’s so special.

  2. I love the idea of making a sweater every month. I can’t wait to see your gorgeous sweaters! You picked some great patterns.

    • Thanks! I feel like I need to keep more things for myself. Almost everything I knit ends up being a gift!

  3. The sweaters you want to make are gorgeous. I agree that the fiber looks like mint icecream. Can’t wait to see it!

    • It’s all spun up now, just awaiting its time in the spotlight!

  4. I just finished my first sweater for myself in January and I too love it! A sweater a month is a great plan 🙂

    • I feel like I need more hand knit sweaters in my life. They just make you feel so happy! Good job on already getting one finished!

      • I don’t think you can ever have too many hand knit sweaters. I’ve been working on ‘lush’ for a while, I need to dig it out of hibernation. Right now I’m working on your huntress cowl, does that count as a sweater?! Hehe

  5. needleandspindle

    A worthy enthusiasm and a great list. After realising that most of my knitting was given as gifts last year, I am knitting a gorgeous lace cardigan by Simona Merchant-Dest just for me. Let Sweater Quest 2014 begin!

    • I like that! We should get people to join us on our Sweater Quest.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

