In Which My Mom is Adorable.

So I’ve probably mentioned this on the blog before, but my mom is super cute. She absolutely loves getting stuff that I’ve made, more than anyone else in the small circle of people who get handmade stuff from me with the exception of Greg. (He loves his handknit socks and treats them with care and respect. That is the true test of handknit giftability.) Anyway, I’m getting distracted. My mom loves everything I’ve ever made her, and shows everyone the mittens I made her for Christmas last year all the time. I can’t believe that she actually wears them in Texas, but she does! So since my mom loves stuff that I make so much, for her birthday, I decided to go further! Not only would I knit her a thing, I would spin the yarn myself. In theory, this was a great idea. I think that two levels of handmade-ness in a project probably has some sort of exponential effect on how unique and special a gift is. However, this meant that the project was extremely late. Fortunately for me, you wouldn’t want a single knitted thing in the middle of a Texas summer (and honestly for most of the fall as well) so my super late present actually showed up just in time for her to need a little extra cozy warmth. It’s also the first and only time I’ve actually knit anything with my handspun yarn, so that was really exciting for me. I loved being able to design a yarn that would go with my idea of a project, instead of having to work with what was available. 

Some of you who have been around the blog for a while may remember that I was working on some cream-colored Blue Faced Leicester wool back in the summer. I completely neglected to ever show you pictures of the finished product, but I’m going to rectify that omission now. It was one of my first spinning projects, and it’s crazy to see how far I’ve come as a spinner since I worked on this. Granted, I intended for this to be a bit thick-and-thin, but the way I did that was to stop actively trying to make it not crappy. It was really easy 😛 However, it turned out beautifully, very squishy and uneven and woolly! 

Image

Image

 

I took this yarn, and I knit it up into a simple herringbone stitch cowl. I didn’t use a pattern, I just sortof fudged it because I knew the stitch already from my Katniss cowl design. It looks so cool in the uneven yarn! I really liked it, and it turns out, so did she! Prepare to see my mom looking super photogenic. I think it’s actually impossible to take a bad picture of her, she always looks so cute. 

Image

 

She wears this cowl all the time, and I’m really glad she likes it 🙂 It even matches her mittens! (I was sorta going for that, but I was happy that it was successful.)

 

Image

 

So there you go! Pictures of my cute mommy wearing her present. Happy Sunday everyone!

1 Comment

  1. needleandspindle

    I reckon that handspun yarn for a hand knit gift has to be the best kind of gift ever. Brilliant that your mum is so appreciative and proud of your stuff. The cowl suits her to bits.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

