Hello you lovely thing..

This is the part about being a maker that never gets old to me, when you finally hold something finished in your hands. (I know, to some of you, a skein of yarn may not seem finished at all, but I convinced fiber to turn into yarn! Exciting!) It’s like a little vessel for my time and growing skill, and that is such a beautiful thing to me. It’s tangible evidence that I am still learning and growing. It represents a challenge that I have managed to overcome.

Image

Plus, it’s just some really, really nice yarn. It’s soft as a newborn kitten, and fuzzy. I find myself cuddling it gently against my face, and making high pitched squeaky noises about it. It’s a bit thick-and-thin, but nothing too drastic. 

Image

It started out as this lovely braid of fiber, shading from the palest ballet-slipper pink to a dark, bloody purple-maroon.

Image

I got this along with some other very nice fiber from Violet Lynx on Etsy. Her fibers are deliciously exotic, and the colors are stunning! This particular blend is 50% Tussah silk, 33% 18 micron merino wool, and 17% cashmere. The high percentage of Tussah actually made this a very easy spin, though I was a bit concerned about the cashmere.  I’ve heard that it has a very short staple length, and is hard to work with, but the only effect I noticed here was that bit of extra softness! I wanted to maintain the stunning gradient, so I spun this as a single. I know it won’t stand up to hard wear, but I don’t care. It’s going to be something snuggly and warm, probably a shawl, and it will LIVE around my neck in the winter.

Image

 

Right now it’s just a pet, and I am completely okay with that. Who wouldn’t want to pet it? 

 

For those of my blog peeps that live in the Boston area, I’m going to be giving a talk for the Common Cod Fiber Guild at MIT on Friday night! If you want to come hear me talk about designing knitwear and inspiration, I’m going to be doing that. It may just be me maniacally jumping around on stage (I hope it isn’t, but you never know) and I would love for you to come say hi! You can see more details on me and the other presenters on the event page here. 

8 Comments

  1. Oo, that looks very squishable! Love the colors, and good job!

  2. Good enough to eat. Marshmallow in a yarn.
    I can completely understand your satisfaction at producing your own yarn: making something from (almost) the absolute beginning. I would keep it as a skein for a while. Just to look at and fondle.
    Congratulations on your first skein – the first of many!

  3. Ooooo! Now that is some serious yarn candy! It is absolutely gorgeous.
    Best of luck with your talk at the fiber guild. Wish I could be there!

  4. This is gorgeous! I wish I could spin!

  5. love love love!!! beautiful spinning work!

  6. Super jealous I’M not holding it – it’s lovely!

  7. needleandspindle

    There is absolutely nothing as beguiling as your own freshly spun yarn. It is a marvel. It is a wonder. It is almost impossible to stop gazing at it. Enjoy your thrall!

  8. Wow! That is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what you knit with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

