Obligatory Rhinebeck Post!

So, Rhinebeck!

I have to admit, one of my favorite things about going to Rhinebeck was the actual drive down there. In general, I am not a fan of driving huge distances, plus I was expecting that with my lead foot we would get there a lot more quickly than we actually did. However, the foliage was beautiful, and the hills were rolling and lovely, and the sunlight on the leaves in all their fall colors was dazzling. Every time we would come to the top of a rise, I would be freaking out and demanding that Greg LOOK AT ALL THE LEAVES. He probably got a little sick of it after the first ten times or so ๐Ÿ˜›ย 

We saw sheep:

ImageImageImage

(I forgot to write down the breeds. Duh! But I remember that last guy was a Jacob because he had the crazy horns! Four of them, eek!)

I got a selfie with a llama! I loved the llamas and alpacas. They were mostly totally down for pets, and they were super soft! Like great big clouds of soft cuddlyness.ย 

Image

I know the llama looks like he’s not into it, but he is.ย 

My favorite thing that I saw at the festival though, (fiber related) was definitely the paco-vicuรฑas. They were so beautiful!!!

Image

They had such slender faces and necks and such enormous eyes! I was petting one, and he made a buzzing noise like an enormous bee and I was ENCHANTED. I just fell in love with these beauties. The coolest thing about them is that they were originally bred from alpacas, attempting to imitate the form and qualities of wildย vicuรฑas, which live in South America and have one of the finest, softest, rarest fibers in the world. These guys look a lot more like them than they do like alpacas. And they are so soft you just want to sit and pet them all day. The only thing I saw that was more exciting was the lemurs fighting. And that was partially because of Greg’s face. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen him look more thrilled.ย 

I enjoyed Rhinebeck, but I think a few factors contributed to me not enjoying it as much as I expected to. I went on Sunday, so a lot of the really cool stuff in the market was gone already ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Everyone seemed kindof tired too. If I go again, I’ll definitely go on Saturday instead. I also felt a bit like some of the vendors didn’t take me seriously because I don’t have a spinning wheel. It seemed like, “OH, you just use a SPINDLE. How plebeian.” Honestly I feel like we who love the fiber arts need to stick together. Just because you have a certain preference (Like how I don’t particularly enjoy crochet) doesn’t mean that it’s any less valid that other people love it. People already think that we’re weird enough without us being hard on each other. I’m not necessarily a great spinner either, but I feel like that shouldn’t matter. I’ve had a lot of people who were really technically amazing give me great advice and make me feel very welcome despite my lack of a wheel, so I wondered what the deal was with this. It wasn’t overwhelmingly my experience, but I did get the feeling more than once. I also thought that there would be a bit more variety.. But I think I’ve gotten a bit spoiled by being able to shop on Etsy ๐Ÿ˜› I thought it would basically be like that except you got to touch all the things!ย 

I don’t mean to whine, I did really like Rhinebeck! I just was a bit surprised by some elements of it that I was certainly not expecting. There was a lot of shopping, and a fair number of sheep and other animals which I loved seeing. I also loved admiring (and also cringing at a few really flamboyant) outfit choices. Even the ones I personally considered hideous I liked seeing, because to me that means that Rhinebeck is a place where we can all be as weird as we want ๐Ÿ˜›ย 

And because I know you all are wondering, yes, I finished the sweater! I finished it in the morning before we left, because Greg and I made a deal that he would not drive. So it was done, and here’s proof!

Image

We did a proper photo shoot as well, but that will get its own post. I told Greg that we needed to get a picture of us together, and he immediately fluffed his hair, and carefully posed the one fiber braid that I bought, as well as our programs. I was just going to snap a quick selfie, and he was basically like “Psh, amateur.” Those photographers are so exacting ๐Ÿ˜›

13 Comments

  1. Brilliant, you made it! That is you got there WITH finished sweater! Love the llamas too. Waiting in anticipation for the sweater photo shoot! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks! I finally managed to post the pictures ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Your sweater is GORGEOUS

    • Ooops, accidentally hit Post before I finished commenting. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Again, the sweater is GORGEOUS, and I’m jealous of your fiber festival visit. I had to miss our local one this year due to illness. The paco-vicuรฑas look so soft and sweet, and I completely understand and agree with your opinion that we should all respect and appreciate each other’s fiber preferences. I think it will only help it’s growing reputation as an Art, not just a Craft. I also completely understand living with a photographer. When you do get to see their photos, they are amazing, but they have to be AMAZING before ANYONE can see them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • HAHAHAHAHA you clearly have spent a lot of time with photographers ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Oooo! I’m so jealous! One of these years i hope to make it to Rhinebeck.
    And I’m sorry that people made you feel less welcome because you use a spindle. I use both a spindle and a wheel and I think spindles are fantastic. I wish that more people would learn to use them … and use them in public! Spindles are such a valuable, fun, and portable fiber tool ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Spindles are the bomb! I love how little space they take up. Also, they’re a much more ancient technology than spinning wheels, so why the judginess? Although I am getting a spinning wheel for Christmas and I am PUMPED.

  4. You did it! Yay ๐Ÿ˜€ gorgeous sweater, can’t wait to see more of it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Rhinebeck sounds fun, but the spinning wheel snobbery not so much. Why can’t everyone just be excellent to each other? Is that so hard? But I still wish I could go. Pesky Atlantic Ocean, always getting in the way! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Bill and Ted YES! I finally posted the sweater, with way too many pictures ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Congratulations on finishing your Bloomsbury sweater. Can’t wait to see the photos.

    • I finally stopped being lazy and posted them!

  6. Beautiful sweater! Rhinebeck sounds like quite the adventure. Too bad about the spinning snobs… still, the atmosphere with all those handknits, yarn, etc. in such a beautiful autumn setting must be amazing. Some day!

    • It’s definitely worth going! The setting is beautiful, and the atmosphere is unbeatable. Also, I have to say, I LOVE your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Fรคrben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

