I have officially fallen out of the crazy tree.

And I hit every branch on the way down. 

Backstory on this: I decided that I wanted a sweater for Rhinebeck. I decided this about ten months ago, and I even knew what sweater I wanted, Bloomsbury by Svetlana Volkova. With sweater in mind, I found the perfect yarn (and the one the pattern required) a few months later. But I fear and dread sweaters, so I kept putting off starting it. Then my life got really stressful due to job searching, and I just couldn’t fathom the idea of starting a big project when I wanted small, instant gratification knits so that I wouldn’t feel like my life was crumbling around me. There’s nothing like a finished knit to make you feel like you’ve accomplished something major, and I personally get that high even from finishing little things. So one thing led to another, and I finally decided to start the sweater the night before I started my new job, October the 6th. I cast on, and then went to sleep early. It seemed to me (crazy person that I am) that I would easily fly through the sweater, since it only needed 4 balls of Malabrigo worsted, and I knit a cowl out of one ball of that in a day and a half. Two weeks seemed completely generous! 

The problem was (and I should have seen this) is that I DON’T KNIT SWEATERS. And not only was my learning curve on this really steep, I didn’t just memorize the lace lickety split either. I needed the pattern with me for pretty much all of last week, and I got almost nothing done. I was finished with the neckband and a minuscule portion of the shoulders on Friday of last week. The pattern, while it makes sense, isn’t exactly straightforward, and so I needed to keep referring back to the stupid pattern to make sure I wasn’t screwing everything up, and progress resembled the pace of a snail.  You’d think that there was no chance that I’d possibly finish the damn albatross before Rhinebeck, and I’d just give up, right? 

No, no I won’t. Because in the time between Friday night and today, I have this:

Image

This is, in fact,  a nearly completed sweater body. I have used up a ball and a half of yarn in a mere couple of days, and this is giving me hope. (false though it may be.) You see, if it was really obvious that I couldn’t finish, I’d stop trying. I’d relax. However, I just keep knitting faster and faster, and I think I am somehow warping the time/space continuum, because I knit up an entire ball yesterday and I KNOW THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE. I do not knit that fast, even on Christmas Eve. So I will be torturing myself until Rhinebeck, in hopes that this sweater will be done. I am exactly halfway through my yarn, but yesterday morning I was only a quarter.

With wool as my witness, the body will be finished before I go to bed tonight. 

 

And also? I’m probably going on Sunday. And I’m pretty sure I’m going to be wearing this sweater. 

16 Comments

  1. This looks great so far and looks to me like you’re doing a fantastic job! I’m sorry I’ll miss you at Rhinebeck… I’ll be there Saturday. Congrats on your new job too!

    • Thank you! I wish we could’ve met up 😦 Next year I want to be there both days!

      • I know! Next year it is. It’s too far for me to go both days.

  2. needleandspindle

    How exciting…there is nothing as exciting as adrenalin knitting. May your needles fly like Mercury’s wings.

    • It’s very exciting! I think it’s going to be down to the wire..

  3. onoodlesstitchcraft

    Oh please please please post when you have finished and wearing it at Rhinebeck! It looks super cosy. Who said you can’t do sweaters?!!

    • I fear sweaters because they never fit and I’m terrible at seaming. But this one is knit all in one piece, and I have modified it extensively with great results!

  4. belesamablue

    What a beautiful sweater! It will look great in that colourway. Have a great time on Sunday, and don’t forget to post pics! 🙂

    • This beauty will definitely merit a photo shoot 🙂

  5. Beautiful job so far. I’m trying to knit a sweater in 30 days and had to tear out about nine inches of it yesterday! Speed knitting isn’t my forte, I guess. I can’t wait to see your finished product.

    • I don’t usually knit fast, I knit for fun and to relax, but I have been possessed with an insane need to have this sweater yesterday 😛

  6. Oh, it’s gorgeous! Good luck, I’ll be sending speedy knitting vibes your way 😊

    • Thank you! I need them for sure.

      • See! Knitting vibes totally work 😉

  7. It’s a known fact that if you knit faster, time slows down.

    • Einstein would say that I must be approaching the speed of light, because that would make sense with relativity theory 😛

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

