And Now, Back to Your Regularly Scheduled Knitting Content.

Hello my friends!

After almost a week of deliriously joyful celebrations, I am now ready to return to my normal(ish) life. I was doubly lucky in that I had some lovely out of town visitors this weekend, just when I was once again in a position to be social and friendly! I had a wonderful time playing board games, and sitting and talking, and drinking the world’s tastiest hot chocolate, and eating pizza with friends long after I should’ve been in bed. Strawberry shandy was drunk, and the game Cards Against Humanity might’ve made an appearance.. (it’s like Apples to Apples, but AWFUL. and hilarious.) 

Very little knitting got done at all, and I am more than okay with that. It was a wonderful weekend with wonderful friends, and I regret nothing. However, it is now time to put my nose back to the grindstone. Particularly because of this.

Image

This is the baby I was making a dress for, and she has unmistakably  put in an appearance. However, this is less urgent than you might think, because she is tiny. Waaaay too small to wear that dress for quite a while. But I still need to finish it because she’s cute, and new cousins don’t come along every day! So I’ll be truckin’ along on that.

Finally, I did do something fiber related this weekend! (just not knitting) I made a new spinner! This process is a very closely kept secret among spinners, and while I could pull your leg with tall tales of biting to communicate the disease, and transformations on the full moon, and other such tomfoolery, really all you have to do most of the time is find someone who already knits, wave some lovely soft unspun wool under their noses so that the wool fumes cloud their judgment, and then hand them a spindle. It works like a charm!

My friend Natalie, the newest addition to our numbers, is totally kick ass. She’s already a great knitter, though sadly blogless, and she is currently working on a really intense program to finish all of her premed requirements, so next year she can go to med school! This is a lifestyle with a fair bit of stress, and I’m not sure that even knitting alone would be sufficient to help me decompress if I had her schedule. Clearly teaching her to spin was the only answer.  I gave her the quickest imaginable spinning lesson, with promises of more later, and a few hours later she was excitedly texting me with this!

Image

We did another lesson later, and she’s even better now! It’s a little embarrassing how much more quickly she picked this up than I did, but I am so proud of her! She’s very clever. Med school and all that 😛 She now wants to start with a fleece, wash, card, spin, dye, and eventually end up with a sweater. What an overachiever, right?? 

I hope to be updating more often now that I have many fewer things to suck away my blog time. Hurray!!

Also, I treated myself to a few lovely things since I now have a new job. When they put in an appearance, I will share my spoils to make you all super jealous. I’ve also made a few other purchases that I’ve been waiting to share with you as well.. My spinning stash shouldn’t need augmentation anytime soon 😛

1 Comment

  1. New babies, new spinners, new jobs…clearly a time of renewal. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

