Can’t Do It All.

I keep apologizing for my blog silence, but at the moment, there’s not really anything that I can do about it. 

I try not to let my personal life bleed over too much into the blog, and for good reason. Ostensibly, this blog is about the stuff that I make, my crafting and artistic contribution to the world. It’s also a community, where people are held together by these common threads. (Haha see what I did there? “Common threads.”  I kill me.) However, I think that sometimes there’s a temptation to put a self out on the internet that, while it may not be inaccurate, isn’t complete. And you know? I think that’s okay. The internet gives people the opportunity to be their best selves as well as their worst selves, and the people who decide to be the former rather than the latter have my respect. 

What I’m trying to say, is that I think that’s been the motivation for me to keep certain parts of my life secret, and while I do believe that some things should never be posted online, I have decided to disclose some things about my life so that I can stop feeling like I need to apologize for not posting often enough. In fact, it isn’t because I’m super lazy 😛 

Sometime in the next couple of months, I’m going to be unemployed. I’ve been spending the summer trying to find a new job, and I was thinking that with my qualifications (which, not to be braggy, are excellent) it wouldn’t be as difficult as it has turned out to be. I have been looking for the entire summer, and I have only had a single job interview. I have sent my resume to countless places, and I have received a few polite rejections, but mostly it’s just silence. I do psychology research, which means that most of our work is funded by the National Institute of Health. And they’re putting through hardly any grants right now. It sucks, and it’s scary, because I’m 22 years old and I had been given to understand that I would have a job for the next two years, and now my bosses are unable to honor that commitment because there’s no funding. I’m great at what I do, and all my patients love me, even the ones that don’t like anyone else. (We have a few extremely grumpy people. I always bring them around.) I’m not trying to toot my own horn here. My point is that I have worked hard to get as good as I possibly can be at my job. I spent my four years of college and the last year of working full time developing skills that I thought would make it easy for me to find work doing something that I love. I’ve found out that all of that wasn’t enough, and I’m scared that I’m not going to be able to find a job before I’m out of a job. 

All this goes to say is that if I don’t update the blog for a while? I’m writing cover letters. (ick.) And I can live with that. I’m going to try to stop feeling guilty about not being perfect at everything. And I’ll still update when I can, because this level of stress is requiring a great deal of knitting, though I’m pretty sure that my gauge is going to be waaaaay off. 

❤ Lolly

12 Comments

  1. creative pixie

    All the best with the job hunting.

  2. Alyssa

    Good luck with the job hunt, I’ll still be here as a reader when you get back 🙂

  3. Good luck, and I’ll be here when you get back too :)))

  4. Good luck!

  5. Oh Lolly, we are feeling your pain. Good luck with the hunting and try to not get bogged down by it. The good stuff happens when we quit looking for it. My advice? Start a HUGE project that would take up every minute of your waking hours-then you’ll get a call! 😉

  6. Don’t worry hun, I’ll wait 🙂 job hunting has to come first and in the current climate I can completely see why it takes up all your time. It’s exactly the same on our side of the pond – not much to go around. Good luck xxx

  7. Best of luck 🙂

  8. onoodlesstitchcraft

    Keep at it, all will come right in the end

  9. onoodlesstitchcraft
  10. Hang in there Lolly! The knits will always be there for you. Take care of you. We’re all cheering you on. Keep that positive attitude. That is a skill that will take you far in every aspect of life.

  11. Well done for you for sharing what is a really scary and painful thing. Sending positive thoughts your way, in hopes that the perfect job finds you. Anyone would be lucky to have you!

  12. Here’s hoping for a great job just around the corner! I know the search can be discouraging, but there are always good things on the horizon. Networking, using alumni connections, volunteering, and informational interviews are always good to do, even if they can be a little painful and awkward. Just plan treats for yourself as a reward for doing them (not necessarily expensive things, but a walk in the park, trip to the farmer’s market, casting on for a new project, using fancy yarn that you have stashed away).

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

