Anatomy of a Fiber Stash: Part One

Since I’m doing the Tour de Fleece thus year, I’ve decided that I’m going to let you into my stash. Since spinning is such a long process, I’m very particular about the fiber I choose, and I’m only becoming more so the more I spin. I already have waaaaay more fiber than I need, given how slowly I spin, but I love each and every bit of fluff in my stash.

And so, without further ado, here is the first bit from my stash, and one of my projects for the Tour!

Image

It’s a gorgeous merino dyed in shades of blue and brown, from this store. I liked the colors as they were , but I thought that if I plied them together that the dark blues and browns would get a little muddy. So I taught myself to Navajo ply!

Image

Right there next to the fiber is my first skein of Navajo plied yarn! I’ve heard it referred to as “worm wrestling” and I think that that is a fairly accurate description of the finger gymnastics required to make this happen. It took me a while to get the tension right, and I imagine it would be rather easier on a wheel than on a drop spindle, but I figured it out! I couldn’t find a really good tutorial for it, but I’d heard a few people talk about the general principle behind it, so I was confident that I could figure it out. And I did! I’m so glad that I went to the trouble to Navajo ply, I think that keeping the colors together really makes the blues pop, and I am desperately in love with the yarn that resulted.

Image

 

There was some tangled frustration and rather unladylike language involved before I eventualIy figured out how to do it, but now I have a good system. I’m immensely proud of myself, (rather puffed up with pride, actually) and the fact that I would never buy a yarn that was this poorly spun does little to deflate my joy. (Although, I do buy Noro Silk Garden… I’m just seduced by the pretty colors!) Speaking of pretty colors, just ONE more picture 😛

Image

So there you have it! My first wee skein of Navajo plied yarn, and the fluff from whence it came. I hope to have several more skeins at the end of the Tour, with better yarn every time!

14 Comments

  1. Q- beautiful! What a brilliant job.

    • Thank you! I will admit, I’ve been keeping it next to my bed so that I can pet it whenever I want 😛

      • Q – LOL! And I thought I was the only one who did that! LOL! I do tend to rub the lovelies against The Hubs cheek so he gets the “thrill of the feel” too. Lol!

  2. Great job on the chain ply, it looks awesome. I do agree it is probably easier to do on a wheel, but you did it and did it well. So feel free to puff with as much pride as you can muster. Seriously awesome job, those blues pop so well. If only they could invent a way for the yarn to be touchable through the screen, because it looks so squishable. Keep up the great work!!

    • It is wonderfully soft and bouncy and I love it! Merino is just such a wonderful fiber, and it takes color beautifully. Thank you for the kind words, it’s encouraging, since I still feel like the learning curve is very steep.

  3. I admire anyone who spins! The colours are truly beautiful.

    • I wouldn’t normally go for anything with brown in it, but it just makes the blues look brighter and more lovely! Thank you so much 🙂 Spinning isn’t too hard as long as you cut yourself plenty of slack! Whenever I spin a bit of yarn that looks like a pile of crap, I put it aside for a while and remind myself that I am still learning.

  4. It is absolutely beautiful!! Way to go!

  5. Very nicely done!

  6. Looking good Lolly! Love the colors — happy and bright!

  7. *CLAPPING!* It is lovely! I am slowly (painfully slowly) getting the hang of spinning. I don’t want to show what’ve done so far because it is a bit embarrassing, but I am getting there!

    • Your first spinning is *always* embarrassing. But that doesn’t mean that you don’t love it!

      • Oh no, I am most certainly in ♥Love♥!

  8. Beautiful yarn! Well done 🙂 I wish I could spin, but it would mean having ANOTHER stash!

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

