Just In Case You Wondered..

The yarn in that last post? The gorgeous, anxiety-melting, smooshy joyous yarn? It came from Luna Grey Fiber Arts, and I won it in a giveaway from Ginny over at Small Things! (lucky, right???) 

The colorway is called “Moss,” but I don’t think that quite captures the beautiful shading variations of color. Imagine this. 

You are walking through the forest, beside a quiet stream. You come to a perfect mossy bank, and dancing sunbeams are filtering through the canopy of an old oak tree. The sunlight on the moss, the deeper green of the leaves, the shifting green shadows of the forest? All those colors are in this yarn. I love it desperately, so much so that I have to design something just for it. No ready-made pattern will do, it needs something all its own. I’m going to post more pictures, just because it’s beautiful, and I can. 

Image

 

Oh, you want to see it even closer? Image

And in the skein too? Okay, we can do that 😛

Image

I can’t wait to actually get designing. I have ideas, and I’m pretty sure I know what stitch patterns I’m going to use, but the full concept still eludes me. It needs to be perfect for this lovely yarn. 

And now, just to help you start the week off right, here is a picture I took the other day. I call it “Still Life of Greg, with Yarn.” 

Image

 

He was checking his email, and I was bored, so I started placing my handspun yarn on him, thinking that eventually he would notice or object. He noticed immediately, but I think it says a great deal about our friendship that he unhurriedly finished the email he was reading, nonchalantly turned to me (without disturbing the skein of yarn that I had balanced on his head) and asked, “What are you doing?” to which I replied, (of course) “Putting yarn on you.” “Oh. Okay.” he responded, then went back to what he was doing. 

He has learned my ways. It is best not to question. 

6 Comments

  1. Lucky you, that yarn all but jumps of the screen! and boy howdy, what a patient man to be covered in yarn. I swear, my yarn stash scares my husband out of his wits – like seeing it might make him as fanatical about it as I am!

    • I think that he has become resigned to my oddness. Goodness knows, I’ve always been this way 😛

      • I think it is out goofiness that makes us interesting! I couldn’t imagine how full life would be without almost constant Shenanigans!

  2. Nice to have an even tempered man to pose your yarn on! That green just speaks to me…

    • Isn’t it lovely? And I think Greg’s nonchalance about the encroaching yarn is less a matter of temperament and more a matter of accepting the inevitable. “Let the weirdness engulf you. Become the yarn.” etc.

  3. That yarn is greeny green. The other day I went to a beautiful woods on the west coast of Ireland – Bearna (pronounced barna) woods in Galway, and your yarn is that little piece of Irish woodland. Of course once I can work out how to attach an image to a comment I can show you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

