Flabbergasted.

Well friends, I got a really nice surprise, and I’ve wanted to blog about it, but I haven’t been able to find the words to say it without sounding either braggy or overly saccharine. But it’s also exciting! So I’ll just tell you. I got this!!! It came from Rachel at All Night Knits, who is just a peach, if you haven’t read her blog yet. (Go read it.)

Image

 

My first blog award!!! Wooooooo!!! (okay, that’s all the tooting my own horn that I will do, but I am really excited.) I’ve never gotten one before, and it made me blush and smile and even tear up a little bit, because it just felt so good. 

A little background on me: I love to write. I’ve been a writer since I was a wee thing. I have journaled pretty consistently since I was a kid, but I got in trouble a few times when I was a teenager for things I’d written in my diary, and so for a while I just kindof stopped. Everyone needs an outlet where they feel safe expressing whatever they want, (even if it’s dumb and whiny, like most teenagers’ diaries) but unless you’ve got a place to lock a journal that has a retinal scanner or something of the sort, a diary isn’t really private. So for a while, all the writing I did was for school. It just wasn’t the same, but I couldn’t really get started on a diary again. It just never seemed to take, you know? It never felt right. Then I started reading blogs. It started mostly because I wanted to learn how to do specific things, but before long, I was inspired. People were creating such amazing things, and being creative wasn’t just in the writing itself, but what people were writing about. Their creations, their struggles, their passions and victories and defeats. And they were all ordinary people, just like me. A wide variety of different people, with different other interests and at different points in their lives as well. A lot of my favorite bloggers are moms, and I’m only 22. But I love hearing about their families, and things they’re knitting for their babies. The Yarn Harlot, the first knitting blogger I ever read, and still my favorite, has kids older than me. It’s amazing how knitting and creating brings people together. We may have nothing else in common, but we have our knitting, and that is plenty. 

So this award means a lot to me, and I’m very grateful that it was my first one. Because I’ve always felt like we are some kind of big weird family, and I’ve tried to behave that way. I feel like I have a bunch of great new friends, and you are all AWESOME. I was going to try to pick ten people to give this award to, and I just couldn’t do it. There have been far too many who have extended virtual hands in friendship to pick just ten. So all of you win, since you’re all part of my blog family. Thank you all so much for making this so wonderful and so much fun. 

8 Comments

  1. Q – I”m not a writer so I cannot put ideas down as eloquently as you did. You so totally deserve this award. If All Night Knits hadn’t beaten me to it, I would have nominated you too! BTW, you are younger than my kids. LOL

    • I think that’s one of the greatest things about this community. We are really diverse, but we bond over common interests 🙂

  2. Don’t be flabbergasted (good God I love that word), your blog (aka you) deserve this award. Curls & Q was right, eloquence is something to cherish and should be appreciated. I always look forward to your posts and am thrilled I beat her to the punch!
    *CLAPPING!*

    • You are such a sweetheart *blushes*

  3. Congrats! I like the yarn harlot a lot too as well as coming here to “hear” your voice!

    • Thank you! I had no idea when I started blogging that anyone would actually read it 😛

  4. Congratulations! Well deserved.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

