Take Me Out to the Ballgame!

Despite what you might think, it’s not all knitting all the time here at Chez Lolly. I do occasionally get out of the house and have adventures. One such occurred just Tuesday night, when I went to see a Red Sox game!

Now, I will admit that in general, sports don’t really do it for me. I come from a very sporty family, and have been to far more than my fair share of sporting events, but I enjoy neither playing nor watching them in general. However, a trip to Fenway Park is an entirely different matter. It’s a lot smaller than you expect it to be, for a professional sports stadium, and charming. There’s a whole experience associated with a trip there, from the Fenway franks (delicious!) and fried dough to the seventh inning stretch and singing “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.” It’s a lot of fun, and in the midst of a section of rabid, screaming fans, you can get surprisingly into sports!

Unfortunately, my phone decided to EAT some of the pictures I took. Fortunately all but two had multiple copies, but I’m still really mad. So, imagine that along with these other photos, there are two really good, really photogenic pictures of me and Greg with the baseball field in the background.

Here’s at least one picture of the co-conspirators.

Image

And I did manage to salvage one of the park as well. Look!

Image

There’s this nice perk of my job where I can go to Fenway the day of any game, and half an hour after the first pitch, I can buy two tickets wherever they’re available for $5 each. It’s awesome. Granted, these weren’t the greatest seats ever, but we could see the game well enough.

Aaaaand, just when you thought that this post would be completely devoid of knitting content, I will proceed to prove you wrong. Look!

photo 3

I brought my current project with me to the game, not that it got much attention. It was an exciting game! The Red Sox absolutely crushed the Rangers. (I had mixed feelings about this, having lived in Texas for a while, but you can’t go to Fenway Park and not cheer for the Sox.) That black lump in my lap is actually an alpaca shawl/scarf thing that is going to be for Christmas. Greg thought that you couldn’t see it well enough, so here I am holding it up higher.

photo 4

It was a really fun time, and the shawl is happy to report that it enjoys sports much more than I do. Unfortunately, it was offended by being stuffed in a backpack for most of the game, and would have you all know that this was grossly unfair treatment, since it wanted to watch. It is still sulking in my knitting basket after this indignity.

Despite the fact that it is totally exaggerating (I let it sit on my lap for part of the game, I just didn’t want to get mustard or powdered sugar on it from the hotdogs and fried dough, respectively.) I bought it some new needles today, as it was outgrowing the ones it was on. It was slightly placated, but wan’t me to feel its displeasure for a little while longer. Temperamental little bit of business, that.

(Am I the only one who ascribes thoughts and personality to my knitting?)

15 Comments

  1. Q – How much fun!

  2. Too much fun, love it!!

    • I’m not usually big on baseball or really any sport, but this was a wonderful day with great company πŸ™‚

  3. projectstash

    Oh my gosh, could you look any happier?!

    • This day was great for a lot of reasons! Greg has just started a new job which he loves, and I got to hear all about it, and we had a ton of fun at the game πŸ™‚

  4. Looks super fun! Now, i want baseball game snacks!

    • I always want baseball game snacks! That’s why I can’t go see the Red Sox too often, I’d eat too much fried dough and eventually I wouldn’t be able to leave the park πŸ˜›

  5. you are SO cute! love baseball knitting!

    • Aww, thanks! You made me blush πŸ˜› I like to knit while watching TV, and I can definitely still pay attention to the game while knitting. Greg was a good sport about it too, he forbore to make any comments about my odd hobbies πŸ˜›

  6. Go Sox! Perfect spot for public knitting. I think this week is international knit in public week, but I don’t see why we shouldn’t do it all year long. =)

    • I find that I do a lot of knitting on the subway and occasionally in coffee shops, though I’d like to do that even more πŸ™‚

  7. Because you feel more like family than a line on my computer, you’re getting an award! http://allnightknitter.wordpress.com/2013/06/12/50th-post-wordpress-family-award/

  8. Came to you from ELLEN’s blog. I LOVE your hair

    • Thank you! Although every once in a while I wake up looking like a blonde Bob Marley >.<

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, FΓ€rben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

