Four Little Bunnies, All in a Row.

All finished. Image

It’s not even at all, and I couldn’t love it more. It’s fat, and squishy, and altogether yummy! The silk content makes it shiny, and the wool makes it all plush and bouncy.

ImageIt’s got this lovely rustic fuzzy feel to it, and I still can’t get over the cuteness of my tiny yarn bunnies. It’s definitely not motivating me to go out and get a proper niddy noddy so I can stop using my arm for the purpose. They just come out so adorable and chubby that way!

ImageMore gratuitous closeups, so you can all see the gorgeous colors. I think that this yarn reminds me of the pebbles on the bottom of a stream. Greys, blues, and silvers all blending together. The color variations are a lot more subtle now that the yarn is actually spun up, but I like it that way. It has a very slight marled look to it that I find to be completely charming. I have a real love affair with blue, it may actually be my favorite color. It’s hard to actually pick, but I do find myself gravitating towards blue colorways far more than any other.

Image

Now I’m just being self indulgent, but I seriously love this yarn. My first skein of yarn is too small to really be anything but a pet skein. This yarn, on the other hand, was destined for something specific while it was still merely a little fiber. We will see if it actually attains it’s goal. Despite the fact that this is eight ounces, I spun it pretty thick, and I’ll be cutting it a trifle close. Still, fingers crossed!! For those of you out there who are spinners, I have a technical question. I haven’t blocked the yarn. Should I? If so, what’s the best way to do that so that the delicate silk fibers won’t be sad? I adore this yarn exactly as it is, and I don’t want to do anything to mess it up. Any advice is appreciated!

So, spinners, what’s on your wheel/spindle? Knitters, what’s on your needles?

6 Comments

  1. Such cute, little bunnies. 🙂 You did awesome!! And the blue is just beautiful and soothing.
    Definitely block. Otherwise it won’t set. But, when I want to block it and have it come out without much change (which sometimes is really dependent on how it’s spun and the fibers you spun…), I use lukewarm water (same temp for first and second soak), very little agitation when in the water and when it comes out, I handle it carefully and no thwacking. I just lay it on a towel, fold the towel over a few times to roll it up and then step on it to squeeze out the excess water. Then I hang it up to dry. Finis!

    • Thanks! I’ve been really nervous about getting it wet, because it’s so pretty right now!

  2. Oooo! This yarn looks heavenly!

    • I can’t wait to actually knit with it! I’ve never knit with handspun before.

  3. Bunnies — a perfect description! Love the swirls and depth in the yarn.

    • Thank you 🙂 I love my little yarn bunnies.. they’ve been gradually lining up on my windowsill for weeks.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

