Cancunamatata!

That is the name of the song my little brothers invented while we were in Cancun, (to the tune of Hakuna Matata) and here is why. Feast your eyes upon this gorgeousness.

Image

I’m sure everyone must say this, but the pictures don’t even begin to capture how beautiful it was. The photos are pretty, but they don’t have the same vibrance of the original. I have it in my mind, though, and I brought it back with me. I can close my eyes, and feel the wind on my face, picture the color of the water.

Image

In Cancun was the most beautiful, bright turquoise water I have ever seen, shading through sapphire and royal into cobalt where the deep ocean is. It was beyond beautiful. Words fail me to describe its loveliness. I lounged by the beach and the pool, but my trip there wasn’t entirely devoid of exertion. I did do some swimming in that phenomenal water, ย but we also went to Cabo, and climbed a Mayan temple!

Image

I couldn’t get a picture that really showed how huge it was, but here’s a view from the top! It was really tall, and the winds at the top were very strong. A few times, I was worried that they were going to lift me off the side of the temple, and I would just fly away. The steps were worn smooth by thousands of years’ worth of feet walking on them, and their slipperiness didn’t help me feel more secure when I was near the top.

Image

That’s my dad in the blue shirt and red hat, taking pictures. We were shamelessly touristy.

Image

Here is proof that I actually climbed the darn thing. It was pretty touch and go there at the top, and I was debating with myself whether I reallyย wanted to keep climbing, or if getting almost to the top was good enough. But I persevered!

5.29.13.7

(Forgive the up-the-skirt shot. Rest assured, I am wearing my bathing suit under the dress and all is entirely decent.)

It was amazing to stand in a place where there had been an organized, orderly civilization, over a thousand years before. It was also hot enough to give us all mild heatstroke (We had to hike five miles in the heat and the humidity to get to the temple.) but it was completely, totally worth it. I loved it there. It was beautiful, and the air was so humid sometimes it felt like you were swimming through it. My hair was ENORMOUS the whole time I was there, between the humidity, the salt water, and the sea breezes. I even exposed my pasty skin to the sunlight! I felt like I was soaking in vitamin D, after lacking it all winter in Boston.

5.29.13.10

I didn’t spend as much time on a lounge chair as you might think, my 10 year old brother would come bug me to do something if I looked like I had been sitting still for too long (i.e. longer than 5 minutes) But I didn’t mind. I hadn’t seen any of my family for a long time, and I enjoyed spending time with them, even if it was only a few days. It was even more fun to get to experience a different culture with them. I understand that the beachfront hotels of Cancun are significantly americanized, but there are still odd cultural differences that you might not expect. For example, you can buy individual cans of beer! My brother and I enjoyed a few brews together on the beach, looking out at the ocean. And really, that’s mostly what I did while I was there.

5.29.13.9

I looked out at the vastness of the ocean, and I felt very, very small, and very, very peaceful.

6 Comments

  1. We went to Mexico on our honeymoon and started off in Cancun. You are right – the colours are amazing. And although I’m a wimp when it comes to heights, I went right to the top of all the temples in Chichen Itza, Kabah and Tulum. : ) Fantastic holiday! Thanks for sharing, it brought back lovely memories.

    • I’m so glad! I would be more than happy to go back there, I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a lovelier place. I was just soaking up all the beauty the whole time I was there.

  2. Looks like a great time. I love all the blues in the pictures. Dreamy!

    • I have a real crush on blue, and being in Cancun just deepened my love ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Looks like you had an amazing trip!

    • It was pretty perfect. I love the beach, and it was about as different from our New England beaches as you can get.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Fรคrben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

