In which, I am an idiot.

You know how sometimes the simplest solutions are the ones that elude you the longest?

Well, I had a moment like that, after a week with no laptop. I was sitting around, being sad that I had no computer, and realized that I STILL HAVE MY OLD LAPTOP. And it works fine, it’s just a bit of a dinosaur. (And not a fast one like a velociraptor, we’re thinking Diplodocus here.) But beggars, as they say, cannot be choosers, and I am so grateful to have a working laptop that I could hug this old thing. So now I am also back to posting!!

I also have quite a few things stored up to share with you, but the first one is the most exciting, so we are going to start there. A few weeks ago, I won a giveaway. Β It was a lovely giveaway, from Tina of Peacefully Knitting. What I ended up with was about an ounce of this amazing eco-friendly fibre, in gorgeous colors, all set for spinning! The brand is Ottawa Valley Fiber Arts, and they take mill ends from industrial mills and repurpose them into spinning fibre for hand spinners! They are mostly wool, but can have any number of other things in them too, like silk or cashmere or alpaca or bamboo! Pretty cool huh? Here’s their etsy shop (link). When it arrived, I was just enormously charmed by the colors, a mixture of greens, purples, and blues. Those are my favorite colors! So I took a trip over to Mind’s Eye Yarns in Cambridge, which also happens to have lots and lots of fibre things! The owner, Lucy, is super helpful, and got me all set up with a drop spindle and a quick demonstration of how to spin. After that, I was off to the races! After I spun it all up into singles, I went back to Mind’s Eye Yarns and was shown how to ply. (I think it was an Andean Ply?) and then, I got yarn! My own yarn, all in it’s little tiny skein. Of course I took pictures to document the process.

photo 1 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 6 photo 8photo 10photo 13 photo 14

 

So that’s it! I now know the rudiments of spinning, and it is just sooooo fun and relaxing! My second skein of yarn has already followed the first, and I’m busily spidering away on my third. Every time I mention spinning to my best friend Greg, he says “Spider spider spider” and wiggles his fingers at me. And you know what? I don’t even care. Spinning is awesome!

4 Comments

  1. I agree — it’s awesome! Your skein is lovely — please post more. Also . . . your dinosaur MacBook looks just like mine. . . even down to the location of the cracks on the lower right side. EERIE!

    • I think these things have a tendency to break in precisely the same way, almost as if they were designed to do so πŸ˜›

  2. Oh your first skein! It’s so lovely. Mine was not nearly as nice, probably because I taught myself from Youtube videos rather than suck it up and ask for guidance!

    • It really did help me a lot, I checked out some youtube videos as well, but having an actual person tell me how to do it helped reduce the moments where you’re crying or swearing and wondering why the heck nothing is working the way you want it to. (I still might’ve had a few.)

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, FΓ€rben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

