A Finished Object and a Photography Lesson!

Hello, my dear readers! 

Today I bring you a special treat. For too long, I have been taking crappy pictures in crappy lighting with nothing but my iPhone camera and my extremely poor photography skillz. It was finally time to say enough! Enough underexposed grainy photos! Enough weird angles from trying to photograph yourself! We rise in a revolution against our pixellated overlords! We fight for truth, beauty, and well edited photographs! 

This is Greg. 

Image

 

Not only is he the bestest best friend a girl could ask for, he also has wicked photography skills! AND a talent for passing them on to his less skilled brethren. (or sistren?) He spent an hour out in the freezing cold, explaining to me how to take interesting pictures, how to make the most of my less-than-professional-quality camera, and being a truly excellent sport as I got him to model the scarf I made. This post is going to be very picture heavy, because I am extremely proud of how they came out!

Image

This is, (as my pictures usually are) at my favorite park. For some of these pictures, I had to do some weird contortions to keep my shadow out of the frame. There were some kids skateboarding who probably thought I was eating a big ol’ slice of crazy pie. 

Image

 

Here’s a closeup of the scarf. Isn’t it gorgeous? It’s a Noro scarf a la Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed fame. I even used one of the same colorways that he did in his original version of this scarf, because I was so smitten with it. But more on that later. Pictures first!

Image

 

Not only did Greg help me by modeling the scarf, (which is his waaaay overdue Christmas present) he also helped me learn how to edit the photos so they look better! I learned about how to lighten the shadows and darken the highlights in order to bring out different parts of the picture, when to pump up saturation and contrast and when not to, and how to sharpen the pictures so the neat little details are evident. Yay!

Image

 

Also, see how the light is all soft and pretty and warm? It was already sorta like that, since we had some nice bright sunlight, but I learned about color temperature! We made it seem like a nice crisp fall day, when it was actually about 15 degrees out there. I lost feeling to my fingers.

Image

Isn’t he a great model??

Image

 He was very nice about my frantic hopping around and constant conflicting requests. “Do this!” “No, do this!” etc. 

Image

 

Image

 

I made him climb on that thing. It’s way fun. 

Image

 

When I first told him that I “wanted to put his pretty face on my blog.” he threatened to make horrible contorted grimaces the whole time. As you can see, he didn’t follow through on that threat 😛

Image

 

Another closeup. Aren’t those colors scrumptious??

Image

 

Image

 

I really like this one! I even think it looks kinda artsy!!

Image

 

Image

 

I know you can’t tell, but in this one, he’s saying, “I’m freezing my a** off. Are we almost done?”

Image

 

I like this one! That cool stone arch is the entrance to the park, and I think it looks like Europe. 

So there you have it! I made this scarf as a Christmas present, using Jared Flood’s Noro Scarf pattern. The colors I used were Noro Silk Garden 201 and 349. The 201 was really hard to track down, as it was a colorway from a few years back, but Greg really wanted a near-exact replica of Jared’s scarf, having seen it and become extremely enamored of it. I did my best to oblige, and I think that the result is simply stunning. He really deserves to have such a nice present, he’s a great friend! Anyone who will stand around outside in the freezing cold to have his picture taken by a fumbling, inept photographer deserves some kind of special reward. 

2 Comments

  1. Your scarf turned out awesome and it looks great !

  2. This scarf is fantastic. You really need to make one for yourself.
    Greg is indeed the perfect model and friend. I love these pics, but I also love the crazy ones that came later!

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

