The great holiday roundup of 2012 Part 1

Well folks, it’s about that time. 
The time when I finally unveil everything I’ve been working on interminably for Christmas presents. You will all be happy to know that everything was extremely well received! I had been having some doubts, but, being a lady of exquisite taste, (:P) I decided to ignore them and forge ahead with my Christmas present factory. (Why yes, I do have my own little sweatshop. Unfortunately, it’s called “my room” and the only person who works there is me. Boo.) I will be doing one project per day for the next four days (Mom, Dad, Kyle, and Luke) and on the fifth day I will reveal a special secret surprise bonus prize. Hurrah! 

So, for the first day of our Great Holiday Roundup, Mom’s mittens:

Image

 

She loved these. They came out warm, but still light, and the pattern is pretty gorgeous. Here are more pictures:

Image

 

Image

 

In the last photo, (sadly blurry) you can see how when you put the mittens next to each other, they make a tree of life. Mom thought this was very clever. I would’ve gotten more pictures, but it is extremely difficult to get my mom to stand still for even this long, so this is what you get. 

For those of you who are interested in specs, the yarn used was Brown Sheep Nature Spun Fingering and I didn’t even halfway use either skein. I probably could’ve made three pairs of mittens with one skein each of black and cream. Let me just say, as a devotee of inexpensive, sheepy wool, this yarn has me enthralled. It was $5 a skein people. FIVE DOLLARS. and it’s soft and light and wonderfully warm. It behaved beautifully for the colorwork, and I would definitely use it again. I’m actually thinking about making a whole colorwork sweater dress, and if I decide to kill myself and do it in a fingering weight, this’ll be the stuff. The pattern is The Tree of Life Mittens by Natalie Moreva, which has a nice chart and wasn’t super difficult. It was my first pair of mittens ever, and from start to finish we didn’t have any problems. The eagle eyed of you may notice that the pattern on the cuff differs significantly from the chart. I, in my infinite wisdom, looked at the chart once, said “hey, this looks easy enough,” and proceeded to knit the entire cuff without looking at the chart again. After I realized my mistake, I thought it would be too much work to knit it over (I had a DEADLINE, people.) I have decided that this is *ahem* a “design element” and “adds charm” rather than being a GLARING MISTAKE that I will kick myself about forever. Yup. Totally a design element. 

So there you have it. Day 1 of the Christmas extravaganza. Tune in tomorrow to see the next installment!

Same bat time, same bat channel. 

 

 

(been waiting to use that one for a long time.)

3 Comments

  1. Just gorgeous! I love the dramatic pattern. I most definitely did not notice your design element! I’m a big fan of wonderful yarn that just happens to be affordable. I really like Knit Picks Gloss fingering weight for lace knitting — and the price can’t be beat..

  2. =Tamar

    I actually like your wrist pattern better, because it reverses itself.

Trackbacks

  1. I miss the blog!!!! | lollyknits

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

