An update on Christmas Knitting

Since I decided this year to do almost entirely handmade Christmas gifts (alsdf;afjdsl;j WHAT WAS I THINKING????) I figured that I’d let all of you know how it’s working out for me. I may be a wee smidge behind schedule, but not irretrievably, I hope.

For Dad:

Dad has a grant total of one finished sock (out of two. This is one of those times that I’m really glad I’m not an octopus, though that might mean that I could work on four projects at once..) I feel confident that his present will be done by Christmas.

For Mom:

Mom has one completed mitten. I just finished up the thumb. These mittens are colorwork, so they require a little more attention than most of the other projects. The mitten currently looks wonky as hell, but I’m hoping a good wet blocking will help that considerably. I also want to make Mom a hat, but that may or may not happen by Christmas. I do have some lovely black worsted weight wool set aside just in case.I’m hoping that at least the mittens will be finished.

For smaller brother:

Luke’s hat has been cast on, but I feel like the fish needs one more stripe color, so I have to go get more yarn before I can continue. I have a lovely aqua blue and spring green, but I felt like it needed more contrast, so I’m going to get a heathered navy to take it to the next level. This will, I hope, keep the hat from looking too “girly” (his words not mine) and would also mean that I can make the fish’s tail longer and more ridiculous. This may get finished.

For bigger brother:

Bigger brother is getting a wee knitted elephant. He has already been spoiled with a handmade birthday gift, but I feel like he needs the elephant since it’s his school mascot. This has not been cast on yet, but we’ll see if it gets done. This one is really dependent on my skills, and whether I can figure out the instructions >.< I’ve heard good things about Ysolda Teague thougn.

For Liz:

Liz’s gorgeous cowl is actually nearly finished! and looking BEAUTIFUL. It’s so soft and fuzzy, I covet it for myself.

I will close with pictures of some gorgeous yarn I bought. The bottom two are for little brother’s hat, the top is potentially a surprise gift for Nana, if I can finish it in time.

yarnwindow

 

 

yarnwindow2

 

yarnwindow3

 

The yarns are observing the first really big snowfall of the season, with big fat flakes drifting down. Unfortunately, it all melted.. I really thought it was going to stick this time.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

