Double Knitting (and a mitten update)

So I’m trying to finish my brother’s bowtie before thanksgiving. (I’m using this pattern) Well, really before the tuesday before thanksgiving, because that’s when I get home. I’m less than halfway done, and I’m in the knitting black hole, when you knit and knit and nothing seems to get done. Here’s why. The gauge for this pattern is totally wack. I almost ripped it out because I wasn’t getting gauge, but if I was, the bow tie would be over FOUR INCHES in width. That is some major clown bowtie right there. So I didn’t rip it out, but I wasted an entire afternoon stressing and researching bowtie schematics before deciding that it was actually fine and I should just keep going. Also, it uses doubleknitting. I didn’t know what this was until I had to learn for the bowtie, but basically it makes a double width fabric that is reversible. It also takes twice as long, because for each row you knit half the stitches and slip half the stitches. Now, the bowtie looks beautiful. 

Image

(Here pictured with my Yarn Pet, my new earrings, and a button off of a 1930’s Swiss army jacket. They all wanted to be in the picture, and I’m a big old softie.)

As you can see, the knitted fabric is lovely, it’s just taking EXCRUCIATINGLY long. I also have to figure out how to keep the neckband from curling. The pattern says to knit it in stockinette, but since part of it is the knot of the bowtie, I don’t want it to curl. I also don’t want it to look silly. Perhaps a k1p1 ribbing? 

So these are my bowtie woes. At least the mittens are going well now. I’m rewarding myself with a few rows of mitten when I get lots done on the bowtie. In comparison, the mittens absolutely FLY. 

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

Tinkerbellknits

a place for all my knitting and sewing exploits!

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

