Christmas Knitting List (or, Lolly plays Santa)

It’s getting to be about that time of year, when we start to get serious about our Christmas knitting. Some, also known as the planners among us, may have started even a month or two ago, but lets be honest. Most of us are just starting to look at our grandiose plans for Christmas and say “Oh, s***.” (redacted for family friendliness.)

So I’ve made some plans for Christmas this year, and it’s not looking pretty. But here’s the list:

1. Mittens and Hat for Mom.

This I think is doable. A pair of colorwork mittens is no laughing matter, but the hat is in an aran weight wool and should work up pretty fast. I might be biting off more than I can chew here, but I’m hopeful. These are at the top of the list, because Mom deserves a nice present.

2. Knitted bow tie and red elephant for bigger brother.

These I also think are doable. The bow tie is actually for my brother’s birthday in November, so the gears are already crunching on that. I have my eye on a really cute Ysolda Teague pattern for the elephant (link here), and even though my brother is nearly twenty, I know he’ll love it because he goes to the University of Alabama, and their mascot is an elephant. He can still pretend to be cool while getting his cuddles on. As a pretty sweet bonus, I can make them both with one skein of sock yarn, which has already been obtained.

3. Weird Hat for smaller brother.

The smaller brother likes to wear very strange hats when he goes snowboarding. There’s this kindof snowboarder thing about weird hats, and whoever has the weirdest hat wins.. something. I dunno, I still can’t snowboard without falling more than I slide upright, so I don’t think I get to be initiated into their secret rituals. (Seriously, snowboarder culture is really strange.) So I’m going to make him a dead fish hat for the family ski trip after Christmas, and I’m going to try to make it one of those ones with the big teeth and the glowing sphere on the fishing rod thingie. (A google search has informed me that this is an anglerfish. I am surprised that I did not remember this.) I think he will like it.

4. Socks for Dad.

Dad really just likes socks, and he wants socks and boxers every year for christmas. He’s really picky about them, but I’m going to try to make him a nice pair of handknit socks for Christmas, and hope for the best. Maybe if I use a cashmere blend yarn, he’ll look upon them more favorably. He is a bit OCD about his socks. Here’s hoping that this actually works.

5. Cowl for Liz.

I’ve actually already started this, in Debbie Bliss Angel, in a gorgous salmony-melon color. It was supposed to be a going away gift in September, but ended up getting pushed back to Christmas. (derp) It’s moving really slowly, unfortunately. I really just need to sit down with Pride and Prejudice (the BBC version) and see if I can’t finish the darn thing.

6. Greg’s Mystery Item.

The best friend frequently gets handmade goodies for Christmas, but he actually reads the blog, so there will be no mention of anything I MIGHT be making for him for Christmas. Besides, he’s spoiled. He just got a pair of really nice socks which we will hopefully be getting some pictures of soon. He’s a way better photographer than I am. (Seriously Greg, did you think I was actually going to give you any hints about Christmas on the blog? Shame on you.)

7. “Something Red” for Natalie.

I have been very reliably informed (by her sweetheart of a boyfriend) that this lady’s favorite color is red. So, I will hopefully be putting together something red and cozy for her this holiday season. She lives in the Bay Area, so it can’t be overly warm and fuzzy, but enough to keep the damp out. I have no concrete plans for this yet.

8. Coffee Cup Warmer for Sandra.

My roommate Sandra (who is really a peach) saw and coveted a crocheted coffee cup cozy with a heart on it. Although I rarely do it, I can crochet in a good cause, and she is a very good cause indeed.

Now that I’ve actually written it out, this is starting to sound kind of crazypants.

Leave a Reply

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Hipster Spice

words, knitting, tomfoolery

The Fat Squirrel Speaks

Knitting, spinning, and assorted awesomeness.

things and ideas

knitting and noodling

Woolen Diversions

handknit. handspun. handmade.

Blog - Tanis Fiber Arts

I am the one who knits.

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

Wayfaring Yarns

Travel Tales of a Nightly Knitter

B L U E B E R R Y Z I N G

A VISUAL INSIGHT INTO MY LOVE FOR NAIL ART, CROCHET AND BAKED DELIGHTS

masculiknity

come see cool knit things.

Crafty Effie

A blog about yarn, colors, crafts and fun!

Stitching Life

The story of my life.

Wee Little Z's

Documenting the days of my toddler Shepherd & unborn baby Crew.

moleskineandpencil

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Autonom'us Tech Nation'r'us

Just another WordPress.com weblog

handmade by stefanie

I am the one who knits.

The Menagerie

Crafty, baking, quirky goodness

Woolwinding

Carry on knitting, spinning - and wittering

Den

Making a House a Home

garnharmoni

harmony in yarn

lionsdaughter

Odes to finishing 100's of projects

Kreatives BallaBalla

My Creative Lifestyle -- Stricken, Färben, Basteln

Merinelle

Spinning because knitting isn't weird enough.

pixels and purls

one girl's journey into crafting...

Noddfacrafts

Vintage crafts and treasures from a Vintage Girl!

Rachael Herron

I am the one who knits.

Spin And Knit

Spinning and Knitting Handspun Yarns

Calico Laine Textiles

Dressmaking, Fabrics and Haberdashery from Calico Laine

Babycakes Creates

Crocheting, knitting, and other random acts of crafting

threeprettyposies

wholesome creative loveliness

thewooleryguy

Your Fiber Arts Supplier Since 1981

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

Chronicles of a Fiber Engineer

Electrical Engineer by day, Crazed Knitter by night

FinnGarian Knits

Stories of knitting obsession

Thread & Ethel

knitting yarn(s) in a small space

Caffeine Girl Beads

Just another WordPress.com site

Thready Bear Crafts

Sanity Disappears When the Crafting Begins

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

Leggings and Lattes

I am the one who knits.

sandandskycreations.wordpress.com/

Knitting and spinning my way through life.

Confessions of a Refashionista

Step by step refashion tutorials, adventures in upcycling & thrifty style inspiration with a quirky DIY diva!

